

# **Board of Commissioners of Cook County Minutes of the Environment and Sustainability Committee**

#### 3:30 PM

Monday, July 22, 2024

Cook County Building, Board Room, 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

## **ATTENDANCE**

**Present:** Degnen, Morita, Britton, Miller, K. Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (7)

A motion was made by Commissioner K. Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Trevor, to allow for remote participation in meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Degnen, Morita, Britton, Miller, K. Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (7)

## **PUBLIC TESTIMONY**

Chairwoman Degnen asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Cook County Code.

1. George Blakemore -citizen

24-4172

#### **COMMITTEE MINUTES**

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 06/12/2024.

A motion was made by Commissioner K. Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Britton, to approve 24-4172. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Degnen, Morita, Britton, Miller, K. Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (7)

Sponsored by: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), Cook County Board Of Commissioners

#### PROPOSED RESOLUTION

# APPROVING THE UPDATED COOK COUNTY SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT PLAN (2024-2029)

WHEREAS, the collection, processing and disposal of municipal solid waste is a fundamental responsibility of local governments to protect public health, safeguard the environment, and provide for an improved solid waste management system; and

WHEREAS, the Illinois Solid Waste Planning & Recycling Act (415 ILCS 15/) requires Illinois counties to have a solid waste management plan (SWMP), form an advisory committee to help create the plan, and update the SWMP every five years; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Municipal Code: Chapter 30, Article VI: Solid Waste and Recycling, establishes the creation of the solid waste advisory committee, requires the designation of a county solid waste coordinator, and sets forth waste hauler reporting requirements; and

WHEREAS, Cook County adopted its original plan in 1996 and the Cook County Board of Commissioners approved plan updates in 2000, 2012, and 2018; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 SWMP update was designed by the Cook County Department of Environment and Sustainability (DES) in conjunction with the University of Illinois: Illinois Sustainable Technology Center; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 SWMP update was completed in cooperation with the Cook County Solid Waste Advisory Committee, which included representatives from the Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County, the West Cook County Solid Waste Agency, the South Suburban Mayors & Managers Association, Lakeshore Recycling Systems, McDonalds USA, Rush University Hospital, Faith in Place, the Plant Chicago, the Greater Chicago Food Depository, the Chicago Sustainability Task Force, and the City of Chicago: Department of Streets & Sanitation; and

WHEREAS, DES provided a copy of the 2024 SWMP update to all 134 municipalities within the County and posted the proposed updated plan for public review and comment on the Department's website; and

**WHEREAS**, the updated SWMP presents a progressive vision for managing solid waste in Cook County through the implementation of best practices in solid waste management; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Board of Commissioners supports the expansion of zero waste and circular economy best practices over the next five years as described in the SWMP; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, the Cook County Board of Commissioners hereby approves and adopts the 2024-2029 Cook County Solid Waste Management Plan, and that this Resolution shall be effective upon its adoption.

A motion was made by Commissioner Miller, seconded by Commissioner Quezada, to recommend for approval 24-3201. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Degnen, Morita, Britton, Miller, K. Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (7)

### **ADJOURNMENT**

A motion was made by Commissioner Miller, seconded by Commissioner Quezada, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Lynne M. Surver

Ayes: Degnen, Morita, Britton, Miller, K. Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (7)

Respectfully submitted,

Bridget M. Degnen

Chairwoman Secretary

A complete record of this meeting is available at <a href="https://cook-county.legistar.com">https://cook-county.legistar.com</a>.