

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Environment and Sustainability Committee

Wednesday, February 8, 2023

1:00 PM

Cook County Building, Board Room, 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

NOTICE AND AGENDA

There will be a meeting of the Committee or Subcommittee of the Board of Commissioners of Cook County at the date, time and location listed above to consider the following:

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Authorization as a public speaker shall only be granted to those individuals who have registered to speak, with the Secretary, 24 hours in advance of the meeting. To register as a public speaker, go to the meeting details page for this meeting at https://cook-county.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx to find a registration link. Duly authorized virtual public speakers may speak live from the County Board Room at 118 N. Clark Street, 5th Floor, Chicago, IL or be sent a link to virtually attend the meeting and will be called upon to deliver testimony at a time specified in the meeting agenda. Authorized public speakers who are not present during the specified time for public testimony will forfeit their allotted time to speak at the meeting. Public testimony must not exceed three minutes; the Secretary will keep track of the time and advise when the time for public testimony has expired. After each speaker has completed their statement, they will be removed from the meeting. Once removed, you will still be able to follow the proceedings for that day at:

https://www.cookcountyil.gov/service/watch-live-board-proceedings or in a viewing area at 69 W. Washington Street, 22nd Floor Conference Room B, Chicago, IL. Persons authorized to provide public testimony shall not use vulgar, abusive, or otherwise inappropriate language when addressing the Board; failure to act appropriately; failure to speak to an item that is germane to the meeting, or failure to adhere to the time requirements may result in expulsion from the meeting and/or disqualify the person from providing future testimony. Written comments will not be read aloud at the meeting, but will be posted on the meeting page and made a part of the meeting record.

23-1345

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 1/25/2023

23-1092

Sponsored by: JOSINA MORITA, FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, MONICA GORDON, BILL LOWRY, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, ANTHONY J. QUEZADA and MAGGIE TREVOR, Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE

WHEREAS, Cook County Government plays a vital role in improving the environment and quality of life for all residents of Cook County; and

WHEREAS, Environmental Justice raises awareness of the relationship between the environment and systemic racism; and

WHEREAS, many areas along Cook County's industrial corridors have become increasingly residential and home to growing immigrant communities and communities of color that are disproportionately impacted by air, land and water pollutants; and

WHEREAS, communities of color are disproportionately impacted by environmental injustices that have produced racially disparate environmental, health, and socioeconomic outcomes for generations; and

WHEREAS, Environmental Justice emphasizes community partnership, empowerment and participation by those most impacted by environmental racism; and

WHEREAS, Cook County can play a role in repairing past environmental injustices by proactively supporting and investing in environmental justice communities; and

WHEREAS, The Environmental Justice Movement has roots in Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Hazel M. Johnson, a Chicago resident who founded People for a Community Recovery and fought environmental racism in her community at Altgeld Gardens, is widely recognized as The Mother of the Environmental Justice Movement; and

WHEREAS, Chicago and Cook County has a long history of environmental justice organizing by Black, Latine, Asian American and Native communities; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Board recognizes and respects that environmental justice organizations in Chicago, and across the world, have adopted "Principles of Environmental Justice," as the defining document for the environmental justice movement; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Policy Roadmap details a goal to "ensure environmental justice and a healthy environment for all people and places"; and

WHEREAS, the 2021 Cook County Equity Fund Taskforce Report recommends the development of a Cook County Environmental Justice Policy and climate-resilient investments to address decades of disinvestment in Black and Latine communities; and

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Cook County Board of Commissioners endorses the values of environmental justice including *The Principles* of equity, participation, repair and justice to ground our environmental work and guide our overall priorities and investments, including American Rescue Plan Act Funds; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Cook County, led by the Cook County Board President, will assess internal policy and procedures to ensure environmental justice is a core element of the County; led by the Cook County Board President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners (County Board), in collaboration with the Cook County Equity Fund Task Force and The Department of Environment and Sustainability; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Cook County, led by the Cook County Board President, will work with communities most impacted by environmental injustice in an effort to prioritize projects that will help address past harms, expand opportunities, improve the local environment and enhance the quality of life in environmental justice communities; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Cook County, led by the Cook County Board President, the Environment and Sustainability Committee, the Department of Environment and Sustainability, and the Cook County Equity Fund Task Force, will work with environmental justice leaders and organizations to adopt a Cook County Environmental Justice Policy by the end of 2024.

Legislative History: 1/26/23 - Board of Commissioners - refer to the Environment and Sustainability C

Secretary

Lynne M. Surrer

Chair: Degnen Vice-Chair: Morita

Members: Britton, Miller, K. Morrison, Quezada, Trevor