**BOARD OF DIRECTORS** Steven H. Abbey William Abolt Kristopher J. Anderson Murray E. Ascher\* Robert Barry Jason Baxendale Roger H. Bickel Patricia M. Bidwill Robert Blackwell, Jr.\* Scott A. Bremer Whitney Carlisle\* Cason Carter Jonathan Casiano Michael Cassel Victor Chang Richard A. Ciccarone Nancy J. Clawson Paula Conrad Peter Coffey Elizabeth G. Coolidge\* Jason Coyle Omar Daghestani Gillian Darlow Barrett Davie Mark R. Davis☆ John P. DeBlasio Raymond C. Drake John F. Dunn Robert Fernandez Jennifer Fredericks Clayton Frick Stephen B. Friedman\* Daniel G. Goldwin Susan Hayes Gordon Philip D. Hale Julie Hamos Aaron Harris Mark Heckler Philip L. Hildebrandt Christine Hoagland Adrienne Irmer Mark Ishaug Nicholas P. Jordan William Ketchum Rebekah L. Kohmescher Catherine Krawitz Betty Latson Dan Leary Kandace Lenti Larry Lewis, Jr. Paul Lipinski Thomas E. Livingston Dave Lundy Paul Luu Daniel J. Lynch\* William D Mack\* Christine Maki James Maurer Suzet McKinney Thomas J. McNultv Dorri McWhorter Scott Metcalf James S. Montana, Jr. Timothy E. Moran Monica Mueller☆ Clare Muñana Brian Murphy Michael E. Murphy Randy Nornes Bert Nuehring Michael F. O'Brien Gregory O'Leary'
Robert Pasin Neil Pritz Joseph J. Prochaska, Jr. Sylvia Puente David L. Reifman Anthony T. Reinhart Aaron C. Rudberg\* Jason Rudis Scott Saef Armando Saleh Gabriel W. Sanders Rebekah Scheinfeld Lois Scott Harry J. Seigle\* Joseph Seliga Brian Septon Sapan Shah Steven Shaw Barbara I Stewart☆ Matthew Summy Kent A. Swanson Matthew S. Szafranski Sarfraz M. Tai' Mark E. Taylor\* Carol Thompson\* Kathy A. Thompson' Allen B. Truesdell Thomas Vanden Berk David J. Vitale Daniel Wagner Leon I. Walker Victoria Watkins Andrew L. Weil A.J. Wilhelmi Simon Wlodarski

Meghan Woltman Scott Ziomek

## The Civic Federation

10 North Dearborn Street, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60602 | 312-201-9066 | civicfed.org

May 23, 2022

Cook County Board of Commissioners 118 N. Clark St. Chicago, IL 60602

Dear Cook County Commissioners:

The Civic Federation appreciates the opportunity to testify regarding item 22-2825 as substituted. The Civic Federation commends the Board and County staff for engaging Deloitte to conduct a market analysis as the basis of the proposed County elected officials' salary increases.

Although the Civic Federation supports salary increases for Cook County elected officials for the upcoming four-year terms, we do not support automatic annual salary increases in perpetuity. Instead, the Federation urges the Board to reassess the salaries of these elected officials' positions and vote on new increases after each four-year term.

The Deloitte market survey clearly indicated the need for an increase after two decades of stagnant salary levels. However, there may be a need for further adjustments in future years to reflect changes in duties and responsibilities, rather than blanket increases every year going forward.

The Civic Federation echoes the concerns and questions raised by the League of Women Voters at the May 11 Finance Committee meeting about whether the salary levels for each position is appropriate given the duties and responsibilities, and what would happen if Cook County salary levels eventually outpace the median salaries of other jurisdictions.

We thank the Board for holding a separate meeting on this item, and hope that responses to the questions submitted by the League of Women Voters will be addressed.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Laurence Msall President Civic Federation

Laurence J. Month



## **OFFICERS**

Donovan W. Pepper Chair Ashli Nelson

Vice Chair

Daniel C. Sprehe Vice Chair

Jill Wolowitz Vice Chair

Charles R. Gardner Treasurer

Laurence J. Msall President

Sarah J. Wetmore Vice President

Lauracyn Duncan Vice President

\*Executive Committee A Past Chair's Council