Cook County Board of Commissioners

RICHARD R. BOYKIN 1st District

> **DENNIS DEER** 2nd District

JERRY BUTLER 3rd District

STANLEY MOORE 4th District

DEBORAH SIMS 5th District

EDWARD M. MOODY 6th District

JESUS G. GARCIA 7th District

LUIS ARROYO, JR 8th District

PETER N. SILVESTRI 9th District

BRIDGET GAINER 10th District

JOHN P. DALEY 11th District

JOHN A. FRITCHEY 12th District

LARRY SUFFREDIN 13th District

GREGG GOSLIN 14th District

TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER 15th District

JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI 16th District

> SEAN M. MORRISON 17th District

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND SUSTAINABILITY

69 W. Washington Street, Suite 1900 ● Chicago, Illinois 60602-1304 ● (312) 603-8200

Email: environment@cookcountyil.gov • www.cookcountyil.gov/environment

Dear Commissioner,

The Cook County Department of Environment and Sustainability (CCDES) collected comments on the proposed Cook County Solid Waste Plan Update between its introduction at the June 6th Board meeting and July 11th.

In addition to the two speakers at the Environment and Sustainability Public Hearing on June 26th, we received written comments from the following organizations:

- **Evanston Rebuilding Warehouse** 1.
- 2. Citizens' Greener Evanston
- Construction and Demolition Recycling Association 3.
- 4. Champaign County Regional Planning Commission

These letters are attached along with a document that summarizes the comments and the Department's response to each. You will see notes next to each comment indicating whether it has prompted any changes into the text of the Plan Update or if not, the reason why. Generally, if comments were not incorporated into the plan it was because they were not relevant to the scope of the plan or the County's jurisdiction. The letters also contained numerous suggestions for tasks to be considered during the implementation of the plan and those are also tracked in the comments document but did not prompt changes to the plan.

The revised Solid Waste Plan Update is on the agenda for approval at the Environment and Sustainability Committee Meeting scheduled for 9:15am on July 25th. Please contact Laura Oakleaf at laura.oakleaf@cookcountyil.gov or 312-603-8250 if you have any

questions or would like to schedule a time for a more detailed review of the comments.

Sincerely,

Deborah Stone

Director, Department of Environment and Sustainability

Joseph PA In