Minutes of the Cook County Commission on Human Rights – Open Session January 19, 2023, at 10:00am

Location: Remote on Microsoft Teams

Attendance via video:

Present: Jack Block, Ceylan Eatherton, Chair S. Mayumi Grigsby, Vice Chair Gia Orr, Michael Lapinski, Amber Smock, Sufyan Sohel, Anjali Waikar, DHRE Staff

Absent: Rev. Richard Tolliver

Open Session

A. Call to Order

Chair Grigsby called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

B. Statements by the General Public

There were no statements by the public.

C. Agenda Approval

A motion to approve the agenda by Commissioner Block, seconded by Commissioner Eatherton. The motion was carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: Chair S. Mayumi Grigsby, Vice Chair Gia Orr, Jack Block, Ceylan Eatherton, Michael Lapinski, Amber Smock, Anjali Waikar
- Nays: none

Absent: Rev. Richard Tolliver

D. Approval of the November 10, 2022, Regular Meeting Open Minutes

A motion to approve the November 10, 2022, regular meeting open minutes was made by Commissioner Sohel, seconded by Commissioner Block. The motion was carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Chair S. Mayumi Grigsby, Vice Chair Gia Orr, Jack Block, Ceylan Eatherton, Michael Lapinski, Amber Smock, Sufyan Sohel, Anjali Waikar

Nays: none

Absent: Rev. Richard Tolliver

E. Commissioners' Updates

F. Discussion of 2023 Regular Meeting Time

G. Working Group Updates

- a. Outreach
- b. Strategic Planning

H. Director's Report

I. Investigation Extension Requests for:

- a. 2022E020
- b. 2022JHA008
- c. 2022E013A
- d. 2021E016
- e. 2022H018

A motion to extend investigations in the above listed cases was made by Commissioner Block, seconded by Commissioner Eatherton. The motion was carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Chair S. Mayumi Grigsby, Vice Chair Gia Orr, Jack Block, Ceylan Eatherton, Michael Lapinski, Amber Smock, Sufyan Sohel, Anjali Waikar

Nays: none

Absent: Rev. Richard Tolliver

Closed Session

A motion to move into Executive Session to discuss cases 2018PA003 and 2021H005 was made by Commissioner Sohel, seconded by Commissioner Eatherton. The motion was carried by unanimous vote.

Open Session

At 12:00 p.m., the Commission reconvened to Open Session.

O. Voting Regarding Executive Session Items

A motion to approve the November 10, 2022, closed session minutes was made by Commissioner Block, seconded by Commissioner Waikar. The motion was carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Chair S. Mayumi Grigsby, Vice Chair Gia Orr, Amber Smock, Sufyan Sohel

Nays: none

Absent: Michael Lapinski, Rev. Richard Tolliver

Abstained: Ceylan Eatherton, Anjali Waikar

A motion to approve the draft as amended and directed by the Commission in executive session for case 2018PA003 was made by Commissioner Orr, seconded by Commissioner Block. The motion was carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Chair S Mayumi Grigsby, Vice Chair Gia Orr, Ceylan Eatherton, Amber Smock, Sufyan Sohel, Anjali Waikar

Nays: none

Absent: Michael Lapinski, Rev. Richard Tolliver

A motion to approve the order on liabilities, remand to the ALJ for further clarification and fines to be determined by the Commission in case 2021H005, was made by Commissioner Orr, seconded by Commissioner Block. The motion was carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Chair S. Mayumi Grigsby, Vice Chair Orr, Jack Block, Ceylan Eatherton, Amber Smock, Sufyan Sohel, Anjali Waikar

Nays: none

Absent: Michael Lapinski, Rev. Richard Tolliver

P. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made by Commissioner Waikar, seconded by Commissioner Eatherton. The motion was carried by unanimous vote.

The meeting adjourned at 12:07 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Commission staff.

A complete recording of this meeting is at https://cook-county.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx.