

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations Committee Minutes

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

12:15 PM

Cook County Building, Board Room, Rm. 569 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

ATTENDANCE

Present: Chairman Suffredin, Vice Chairman Fritchey, Commissioners Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, García, Goslin,

Moore, Morrison, Murphy and Sims (11)

Absent: Commissioners Butler, Gainer, Schneider, Silvestri, Steele and Tobolski (6)

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Chairman Suffredin asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Cook County Code.

1. George Blakemore, concerned citizen

15-6518

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 10/28/2015

A motion was made by Commissioner Daley, seconded by Commissioner Murphy, that this Committee Minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Chairman Suffredin, Vice Chairman Fritchey, Commissioners Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, García, Goslin,

Moore, Morrison, Murphy and Sims (11)

Absent: Commissioners Butler, Gainer, Schneider, Silvestri, Steele and Tobolski (6)

15-6314

Sponsored by: LARRY SUFFREDIN, County Commissioner

PROPOSED APPOINTMENT

Appointee(s): Ms. Gray I. Mateo-Harris

Position: Member

Department/Board/Commission: Cook County Sheriff's Merit Board

Effective date: Immediate

Expiration date: Ms. Mateo-Harris' term will expire on the Third Monday in March, 2018.

Legislative History: 10/28/15 Board of Commissioners referred to the Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

The nominee's resume, statement of interest and affidavit were entered into the record. The nominee also gave an oral statement as to their interest in and qualifications for the position.

A motion was made by Commissioner Daley, seconded by Commissioner Murphy, that this Appointment be recommended for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Chairman Suffredin, Vice Chairman Fritchey, Commissioners Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, García, Goslin,

Moore, Morrison, Murphy and Sims (11)

Absent: Commissioners Butler, Gainer, Schneider, Silvestri, Steele and Tobolski (6)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Daley, seconded by Commissioner Morrison, that this committee be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Chairman Suffredin, Vice Chairman Fritchey, Commissioners Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, García, Goslin,

hen B. Dlan

Moore, Morrison, Murphy and Sims (11)

Absent: Commissioners Butler, Gainer, Schneider, Silvestri, Steele and Tobolski (6)

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman

*A video recording of this meeting is available at https://cook-county.legistar.com