

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF COOK COUNTY

Cook County Building, Board Room, 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

Minutes of the

Special Board Meeting to honor the memory of Commissioner Joan Patricia Murphy

Monday, September 26, 2016, 11:15 AM

Board Minutes

ATTENDANCE

- **Present:** President Preckwinkle, Commissioners Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Fritchey, Gainer, García, Goslin, Moore, Morrison, Schneider, Silvestri, Sims, Steele, Suffredin and Tobolski (16)
- **Absent:** Commissioner Butler (1)

INVOCATION

The invocation was given by Father Monsignor Patrick Pollard, Director of Catholic Cemeteries for the Archdiocese of Chicago

REMEMBRANCES

President Preckwinkle called upon the following public speakers:

- 1. The Honorable Louis Presta, Mayor, Village of Crestwood
- 2. The Honorable Cook County Commissioner Jeffery Tobolski, speaking on behalf of The Honorable Dan Lipinski, U.S. Congressman 3rd District
- 3. Arnold Randall, Superintendent, Forest Preserve District of Cook County
- 4. Ginny Hotaling, Vice President of Government Affairs, Chicago Botanic Garden
- 5. Jo-Elle Mogerman, Ph.D, Senior Vice President of Conservation, Education and Community Affairs, Chicago Zoological Society
- 6. The Honorable Liz Gorman, Orland Township Republican Committeeman and former Cook County Commissioner
- 7. The Honorable Bobbie Steele, 32nd President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners
- 8. The Honorable Frank Zuccarelli, Thornton Township Supervisor and Democratic Committeeman
- 9. The Honorable John O'Sullivan, Worth Township Democratic Committeeman
- 10. Don Finn, Business Manager, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 134
- 11. Timothy Brian Murphy, Son
- 12. Patricia Joan Murphy, Daughter

PRESIDENT

16-5433

Sponsored by: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN and JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI, Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

IN MEMORY OF THE HONORABLE JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, 6TH DISTRICT

WHEREAS, Almighty God in His infinite wisdom called 6th District Commissioner Joan Patricia Murphy from our midst on September 18, 2016; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy was born in South Boston, Massachusetts, in 1937; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy graduated from the State Teachers College, Boston (now University of Massachusetts, Boston) and continued to further her education throughout her career by taking continuing education classes and seminars; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy married her husband Donald, a union electrician, in 1959 and the couple had four children: Donald Francis Jr., Patricia Joan, Timothy Brian, and Anthony Michael; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy held several jobs both inside and outside of government including: flight attendant, real estate broker and chief investigator for the Cook County Board of Ethics; and

WHEREAS, in 1965, Commissioner Murphy was elected Clerk of the Village of Crestwood. She was the first woman elected to public office in the village; and

WHEREAS, in 1977, Commissioner Murphy was elected Clerk of Worth Township. She was also the first woman elected to this public office in 128 years of township government; and

WHEREAS, in 1989, Commissioner Murphy was elected Supervisor of Worth Township. She was the first woman elected to this office; and

WHEREAS, in 2002 Commissioner Murphy was elected to the Cook County Board as Commissioner for the 6th District and served in that capacity until her passing; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy served as Chairwoman for the Labor and Asset Management Committees and Vice-Chairwoman of the Business and Economic Development and Zoning & Building Committees of the Cook County Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy also served as Forest Preserve District of Cook County Commissioner for the 6th District; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy served as Chairwoman for the Real Estate and Labor Committees and Vice-Chairwoman of the Recreation and Zoological Committees of the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, in 2008 Commissioner Murphy founded the Cook County Partners Against Animal Cruelty. She also served as the Co-Chair of the organization; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy was very active in the National Association of Counties (NACo) for more than fourteen (14) years, serving as the Vice Chairwoman of the Transportation Steering Committee and the Chairwoman of the Ports Subcommittee; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy was instrumental in the formation of Women of NACo (WON). She worked diligently to promote and encourage women to run for elected office; and

Board Minutes

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy participated in a number of community service activities, including but not limited to: South Suburban Mayors & Managers Association, Southwest Conference of Mayors, League of Women Voters, Chicago Southland Convention and Visitors Bureau and Chicago Southland Chamber of Commerce; and.

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy was deeply involved in politics nationally as well as locally; culminating in her service as a super-delegate for 2016 Democratic Presidential Nominee Hillary Clinton at the 2016 Democratic National Convention; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy served as Secretary-Treasurer of the National Democratic Counties Officials from 2012 until her passing; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murphy was preceded in death by her husband, Donald, her son, Donald Francis Jr, and siblings Robert O'Malley and Eilleen Tomao. She is survived by her mother, Concetta O'Malley, her brother, Michael O'Malley, her daughter, Patricia Joan, her sons, Timothy Brian and Anthony Michael, and her grandchildren Teagan Murphy, Ronan Murphy, Madeline Murphy, Mia Murphy, and Mary Murphy.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the residents of Cook County, do extend their deepest condolences and most heartfelt sympathy to the family and friends of Commissioner Joan Patricia Murphy; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that suitable copies of this Resolution be tendered to the children of Commissioner Joan Patricia Murphy as a means of communicating our deep respect and reverence for her commitment to public service and the citizens of Cook County.

A motion was made by Commissioner Daley, seconded by Commissioner Sims, to approve 16-5433. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: Commissioners Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Fritchey, Gainer, García, Goslin, Moore, Morrison, Schneider, Silvestri, Sims, Steele, Suffredin and Tobolski (15)
- **Absent:** Commissioner Butler (1)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Daley, seconded by Commissioner Morrison, to adjourn the special meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: Commissioners Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Fritchey, Gainer, García, Goslin, Moore, Morrison, Schneider, Silvestri, Sims, Steele, Suffredin and Tobolski (15)
- **Absent:** Commissioner Butler (1)