

Board of Commissioners of Cook County Board of Commissioners

Minutes of the Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

Wednesday, April 25, 2018	9:00 AM	Cook County Building, Board Room
		118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

ATTENDANCE

Present:	Suffredin, Fritchey, Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Deer, Goslin, Moody, Morrison,
	Schneider, Sims and Tobolski (12)
Absent:	Butler, Gainer, García, Moore and Silvestri (5)

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Chairman Suffredin asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Cook County Code.

1. Mark Armstrong

<u>18-3359</u>

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 03/14/2018

A motion was made by Commissioner Daley, seconded by Vice Chairman Fritchey, to approve 18-3359. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes:Suffredin, Fritchey, Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Goslin, Moody, Morrison, Schneider
and Tobolski (10)
- Absent: Butler, Deer, Gainer, García, Moore, Silvestri and Sims (7)

<u>18-2059</u>

Presented by: TONI PRECKWINKLE, President, Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED APPOINTMENT

Appointee(s): Peter Fotos

Position: Member

Department/Board/Commission: Pharmaceutical Disposal Advisory Committee

Effective date: Immediate

Expiration date: The appointment will remain in effect until reappointed or successor is appointed

A motion was made by Commissioner Daley, seconded by Vice Chairman Fritchey, to recommend for approval 18-2059. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:Suffredin, Fritchey, Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Goslin, Moody, Morrison, Schneider
and Tobolski (10)

Absent: Butler, Deer, Gainer, García, Moore, Silvestri and Sims (7)

<u>18-2658</u>

Sponsored by: STANLEY MOORE and LARRY SUFFREDIN, Cook County Board Of Commissioners

PROPOSED FLOOR AMENDMENT TO ITEM 18-2658

Sponsored by

HON. STANLEY MOORE, HON. LARRY SUFFREDIN, HON. RICHARD BOYKIN, HON. DENNIS DEER, HON. EDWARD MOODY AND HON. DEBORAH SIMS, COOK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

A RESOLUTION CALLING ON THE ILLINOIS GENERAL ASSEMBLY TO CREATE AN INDIANA BORDER TAX AND REGIONAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY

WHEREAS, Cook, Will, Iroquois and Kankakee Counties (the "Counties") share a border with the State of Indiana; and

WHEREAS, the Counties compete with Indiana for economic development, revenue, and employees, among other resources; and

WHEREAS, differing tax structures between Illinois and Indiana create disparate incentives for some landowners at the expense of Illinois business; and

WHEREAS, there is little coordination or strategy to determine how to ensure the Counties maintain a competitive advantage over Indiana; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Board of Commissioners of Cook County call on the Illinois General Assembly to create an Indiana Border Tax and Regional Economic Development Strategy to encompass Cook, Will, Iroquois and Kankakee Counties <u>through Illinois Senate Bill 3285</u> <u>or a similar bill</u>; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Indiana Border Tax and Regional Economic Development Strategy shall include a strategy to attract and maintain businesses within the Cook, Will, Iroquois and Kankakee Counties;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Indiana Border Tax and Regional Economic Development Strategy shall include participants from various affected municipalities and elected officials from Cook, Will, Iroquois and Kankakee Counties.

A motion was made by Commissioner Boykin, seconded by Commissioner Daley, to accept as amended 18-2658. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:	Suffredin, Fritchey, Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Deer, Goslin, Moody, Morrison,	
	Schneider, Sims and Tobolski (12)	
Absent:	Butler, Gainer, García, Moore and Silvestri (5)	

A motion was made by Commissioner Boykin, seconded by Commissioner Tobolski, to recommend for approval as amended 18-2658. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:	Suffredin, Fritchey, Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Deer, Goslin, Moody, Morrison,	
	Schneider, Sims and Tobolski (12)	
Absent:	Butler, Gainer, García, Moore and Silvestri (5)	

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Moody, seconded by Commissioner Tobolski, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:
Suffredin, Fritchey, Arroyo, Boykin, Daley, Deer, Goslin, Moody, Morrison, Schneider, Sims and Tobolski (12)

Alexandrow of the Grade of the

Absent: Butler, Gainer, García, Moore and Silvestri (5)

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman

Anen B. Dham

Secretary

A video recording of this meeting is available at https://cook-county.legistar.com.