

Board of Commissioners of Cook County Minutes of the Zoning and Building Committee

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

10:30 AM

Cook County Building, Board Room 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

ATTENDANCE

Present: Silvestri, Sims, Arroyo, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

Moore, Morrison, Morrison, Suffredin and Tobolski (16)

Absent: Anaya (1)

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

- 1. George Blakemore
- 2. Andrew Tokarz, Tokarz Real Estate Enterprises
- 3. Brian Battle, President, Board of Education, Barrington Community Unit School District 220
- 4. Barbara Romano, Principal, Early Learning Center, Barrington Community Unit School District 220
- 5. Richard J. Curran, Jr., Attorney, Barringto Countryside Fire Protection District
- 6. Aimee Tanking, President, PTO of Prairie Campus Middle School, Barrington Community Unit School District 220
- 7. Dr. Brian Harris, Superintendent, Barrington Community Unit School District 220

Written statements received from: Patricia Haney, Keara Ide, Sybil Kestler, Christine M. Pfaff, James Rahfaldt, Margo Reinecke

19-2345

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 1/23/2019

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Sims, seconded by Commissioner Daley, to approve 19-2345. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Silvestri, Sims, Arroyo, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

Moore, Morrison, Morrison, Suffredin and Tobolski (16)

Absent: Anaya (1)

19-2240

Presented by: JAMES WILSON, Secretary, Zoning Board of Appeals

RECOMMENDATION OF THE ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS

Request: Special Use & Variations SU18-06 & V18-26

Township: Barrington

County District: 15

Property Address: 36 E. Dundee Road, Barrington Illinois, 60010

Property Description: The Subject Property is approximately 1 acre located on the north side of Dundee Road approximately .7 miles from the intersection of Barrington Road and Dundee Road in Barrington Township, Unincorporated Cook County, Illinois.

Owner: Barrington Countryside Fire Protection District, 22222 N. Pepper Road, Lake Barrington, Illinois 60010

Agent/Attorney: Richard J. Curran, Jr. Esq., Cowlin, Naughton & Curran , 20 Grant Street, PO Box 188, Crystal Lake, Illinois 60039-0188

Current Zoning: R-3 Single Family Residence District

Intended use: Applicant seeks a Special Use to operate a Fire/EMS substation with a companion Variance (V 18-26). The Variance request seeks to reduce the lot area from the minimum required 40,000 square feet to 34,892 square feet (if granted under the companion Special Use).

Recommendation: ZBA Recommendation is to Grant with Condition

Conditions: The Condition is that the BCFPD will not use the sirens on the Subject Property.

Objectors: On 10/1/2019 the ZBA did receive a Written Protest from the Board of Education, Barrington Community Unit School District No. 220.

Ms. Barbara Romano, Early Learning Center (ELC), Gregory Stahler, Cashman Stahler Group Architects, Michael S. MaRous, MAI, CRE & President of MaRous & Company and Angela Wilcox, Barrington Community Unit School District No. 220.

On 1/9/2019, ZBA received 10 objection letters from parents of children that attend ELC.

History:

Zoning Board Hearing: 10/3/2018, 12/5/2018, 1/9/2019 and 2/6/2019

Zoning Board Recommendation date: 3/6/2019

County Board extension granted: N/A

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Sims, seconded by Commissioner Morrison, to concur with the recommendation of the ZBA to approve application 19-2240. The mover and seconder made this motion for the purpose of putting the item on the floor. The motion failed by the following vote:

Nayes: Silvestri, Sims, Arroyo, Britton, Daley, Degnen, Johnson, Lowry, Miller, Moore,

Morrison, Morrison, Suffredin and Tobolski (14)

Absent: Anaya, Deer and Gainer (3)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Sims, seconded by Commissioner Daley, that this was adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Silvestri, Sims, Arroyo, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

Moore, Morrison, Morrison, Suffredin and Tobolski (16)

Absent: Anaya (1)

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Secretary

A video recording of this meeting is available at https://cook-county.legistar.com.