

Board of Commissioners of Cook County Minutes of the Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

11:00 AM

Cook County Building, Board Room 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

ATTENDANCE

Present: Suffredin, Britton, Arroyo, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

Moore, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri and Tobolski (15)

Absent: Anaya and Sims (2)

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Chairman Suffredin asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Cook County Code.

No Public Speakers

20-0666

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 11/20/2019

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Britton, seconded by Commissioner Deer, to approve 20-0666. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Suffredin, Britton, Arroyo, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

Moore, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri and Tobolski (15)

Absent: Anaya and Sims (2)

Committee Minutes

December 18, 2019

19-6810

Presented by: THOMAS J. DART, Sheriff of Cook County

PROPOSED APPOINTMENT

Appointee(s): Eleni P. Sianis

Position: Member

Department/Board/Commission: Cook County Sheriff's Merit Board

Effective date: Immediate

Expiration date: Third Monday in March, 2021, or until a successor is appointed and qualified.

Summary: This appointment is being made pursuant to 55 ILCS 5/3-7002 as amended by the 100th General Assembly and shall be effective immediately. This appointment is being made to fill the vacancy made by the resignation of Patrick Brady from the Merit Board. Brady's appointment to the Merit Board was set to expire on March 15, 2021. Pursuant to 55 ILCS 5/3-7002, "[i]n the case of a vacancy in the office a member prior to the conclusion of the member's term, the Sheriff shall, with the advice and consent of three-fifths of the county board, appoint a person to serve for the remainder of the unexpired term."

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Britton, seconded by Commissioner Silvestri, to recommend for approval 19-6810. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Suffredin, Britton, Arroyo, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

Moore, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri and Tobolski (15)

Absent: Anaya and Sims (2)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Britton, seconded by Commissioner Deer, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Suffredin, Britton, Arroyo, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

Moore, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri and Tobolski (15)

Absent: Anaya and Sims (2)

Respectfully submitted,

Lary Puffeli

Mether B. Dlum

Secretary

A video recording of this meeting is available at https://cook-county.legistar.com.