

Board of Commissioners of Cook County Minutes of the Transportation Committee

Wednesday, May 12, 2021 2:30 PM Virtual Meeting

ATTENDANCE

Present: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri and Suffredin (16)

Absent: Moore (1) - Excused

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Chair Sims asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Cook County Code.

1. Congressman Raji Krishnamoorthy

21-3083

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 2/18/2021

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Arroyo, seconded by Commissioner Lowry, to approve 21-3083. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri and Suffredin (16)

Absent: Moore (1)

21-2582

Sponsored by: PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, KEVIN B. MORRISON, FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, SEAN M. MORRISON and LARRY SUFFREDIN, Cook County Board Of Commissioners

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

REQUESTING THE COOK COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION PROVIDE A STATUS UPDATE REGARDING I-390 and I-490 TO THE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, designated a "Project of National and Regional Significance" by federal transportation legislation, the multi-billion-dollar Elgin O'Hare Western Access Project (now called Illinois Route 390) was conceived to improve travel efficiency, provide western access to O'Hare International Airport, create opportunities for jobs and economic development, enhance multi-modal connections, reduce congestion, and improve safety; and

WHEREAS, the State of Illinois, Cook County, DuPage County, the City of Chicago Department of Aviation, and multiple suburban communities have been involved in the planning and completion of Route 390; and

WHEREAS, while a vast portion of Route 390 has been completed, landscaping and other "clean-up" activities remain; and

WHEREAS, while Route 390 currently ends at Route 83, work is continuing to extend the toll road toward I-490, a new route on the west side of the airport; and

WHEREAS, it is expected that in 2021, work will be occurring along the I-490 corridor, with much of the construction focused around the interchanges that will connect the new road with the Jane Addams Memorial Tollway (I-90), the Route 390 Tollway, and the Tri-State Tollway (I-294); and

WHEREAS, because of the breadth and scope of the work, including the significant contributions made by the County of Cook, it is essential that the Cook County Board keep abreast of the project and its timeline.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does herby request that the Cook County Department of Transportation present an update on the progress of the Illinois 390/Illinois 490 project to the Transportation Committee of the Cook County Board.

A motion was made by Commissioner Silvestri, seconded by Commissioner K. Morrison, to recommend for approval 21-2582. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Degnen, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

K. Morrison, S. Morrison and Silvestri (13)

Absent: Deer, Gainer, Moore and Suffredin (4)

20-0358

Presented by: JENNIFER (SIS) KILLEN, Superintendent, Department of Transportation and Highways

REPORT

Department: Transportation and Highways

Report Title: CREATE Program

Report Period: N/A

Action: Refer to Transportation Committee

Summary: The Department of Transportation and Highways respectfully requests this item be referred to the January Transportation Committee meeting so that an update about the CREATE program can be provided to the Commissioners.

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Arroyo, seconded by Commissioner Lowry, to receive and file 20-0358. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Johnson, Lowry, Miller,

K. Morrison and Silvestri (13)

Absent: Gainer, Moore, S. Morrison and Suffredin (4)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Arroyo, seconded by Commissioner Daley, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri and Suffredin (16)

Absent: Moore (1)

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman

Mathew B. Dlum

Secretary

A complete record of this meeting is available at https://cook-county.legistar.com.