

Board of Commissioners of Cook County Minutes of the Technology and Innovation Committee

Wednesday, November 3, 2021

10:00 AM

Virtual Meeting

ATTENDANCE

Present: Morrison, Morrison, Aguilar, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Miller and Silvestri (9)

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Chairman K. Morrison asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordancewith Cook County Code.

No speakers

<u>21-6104</u>

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 10/6/2021

A motion was made by Vice Chairman S. Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Miller, to approve 21-6104. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Morrison, Morrison, Aguilar, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Miller and Silvestri (9)

<u>21-5079</u>

Presented by: F. THOMAS LYNCH, Chief Information Officer, Bureau of Technology

REPORT

Department: Bureau of Technology

Report Title: Information Technology Major Projects Report

Report Period: June 2021- September 2021

Summary: This report provides an update on the status of major IT projects being implemented by the Bureau of Technology throughout Cook County.

A motion was made by Vice Chairman S. Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Daley, to recommend for approval 21-5079. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Morrison, Morrison, Aguilar, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Miller and Silvestri (9)

<u>21-5745</u>

Sponsored by: KEVIN B. MORRISON, Cook County Board Of Commissioners

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION ON THE ILLINOIS SMART CITY AND REGION ASSOCIATION TO PRESENT TO THE COOK COUNTY TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, The Illinois Smart City & Region Association (ISCRA) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit member association; and

WHEREAS, ISCRA's mission is to provide education, information, and vital resources through collaboration to more than 1,200 Illinois municipalities and corresponding regions; and

WHEREAS, the education from ISCRA seeks to promote appropriate technology initiatives for a given community and how to properly adopt technologies for their respective connected community initiatives; and

WHEREAS, ISCRA is a comprehensive platform where technology providers, together with city staff and local elected officials converge to discuss the development and deployment potential of networked technologies on top of a city's existing infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, these objectives are performed in an effort to reduce a community's operating costs, drive efficiencies, and establish sustainable models intent on impacting the quality of life for all citizens and businesses while pushing Illinois to become one of the few smart States in the USA; and

WHEREAS, ISCRA is part of a larger coalition, National Smart Coalitions Partnership (NSCP). The coalition represents efforts of regional smart city organizations from Colorado, Texas, Missouri, Illinois, Arizona and Florida to make it easier to scale projects and work through some of the larger issues like privacy, connectivity and data sharing; and

WHEREAS, it remains vital for local governments to stay on the cutting edge of technology in order to best serve the residents of Cook County; and

WHEREAS, Cook County is committed to working with municipal, regional, and State of Illinois partners to collaborate on advancing smart solutions that leverage the newest and most effective technology; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners asks representatives from the Illinois Smart Cities and Regions Association to appear before the Cook County Technology and Innovation Committee to discuss their work and the role Cook County can play in promoting collaboration with municipal partners to advance smart technology investments.

A motion was made by Vice Chairman S. Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Daley, to recommend for approval 21-5745. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Morrison, Morrison, Aguilar, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Miller and Silvestri (9)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Vice Chairman S. Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Degnen, to adjourn the meeting.. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Morrison, Morrison, Aguilar, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Miller and Silvestri (9)

Respectfully submitted,

hen hen

Chairman

Lynne M. Surver

Secretary

A complete record of this meeting is available at https://cook-county.legistar.com.