

Board of Commissioners of Cook County Minutes of the Transportation Committee

Tuesday, May 3, 2022 9:30 AM Virtual Meeting

ATTENDANCE

Present: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Britton, Daley, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller, Moore,

Morrison, Morrison and Suffredin (14)

Absent: Anaya, Deer and Silvestri (3) Excused

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

1. Kristi DeLaurentis- SSMMA

22-2980

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 12/15/2021

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Arroyo, seconded by Commissioner Britton, that Committee Minutes be approved. The motion carried.

Ayes: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Britton, Daley, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller, Moore,

Morrison, Morrison and Suffredin (14)

Absent: Anaya, Deer and Silvestri (3)

22-2323

Presented by: JENNIFER (SIS) KILLEN, Superintendent, Department of Transportation and Highways

REPORT

Department: Transportation and Highways

Report Title: Fair Transit South Cook

Report Period: January 2021 to January 2022

Action: Refer to Transportation Committee

Summary: The Department of Transportation and Highways respectfully requests approval of the Report: Fair Transit, to be referred to the Transportation Committee for further discussion and a presentation. The Fair Transit South Cook is an innovative three-year pilot program that launched in January 2021 and is spearheaded by the Department. In partnership with Metra and Pace, the program reduced fares by approximately 50% on the Metra Electric (ME) and Rock Island (RI) lines as well as increasing service on Pace Route 352 Halsted by 25% and adding trains on the ME and RI. The Department has completed a first-year report for the program and would like to present on the findings at the Transportation Committee. A particular focus of the committee's discussion will be on the next phase of the pilot program to implement seamless transfers across transit agencies.

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Arroyo, seconded by Commissioner Lowry, to receive and file 22-2323. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Daley, Degnen, Johnson, Lowry, Miller, Moore, Morrison,

Morrison and Suffredin (12)

Present: Britton (1)

Absent: Anaya, Deer, Gainer and Silvestri (4)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Arroyo, seconded by Commissioner Degnen, this meeting adjourn. The motion carried unanimously.

Ayes: Sims, Arroyo, Aguilar, Britton, Daley, Degnen, Gainer, Johnson, Lowry, Miller, Moore,

Morrison, Morrison and Suffredin (14)

Absent:

Anaya, Deer and Silvestri (3)

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman

Secretary

Lynne M. Surver

A complete record of this meeting is available at https://cook-county.legistar.com.