



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 23-4168 Version: 1 Name: CONGRATULATING THE COOK COUNTY

GOVERNMENT SOFTBALL TEAM 2023 GRANT

PARK CO-ED SOFTBALL LEAGUE CHAMPIONS

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 7/19/2023 In control: **Board of Commissioners**

7/20/2023 7/20/2023 On agenda: Final action:

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE COOK COUNTY GOVERNMENT SOFTBALL TEAM 2023 GRANT PARK

CO-ED SOFTBALL LEAGUE CHAMPIONS

WHEREAS, the 2023 Cook County Softball team participated in its first official league play since the COVID-19 global pandemic; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball team resumed its dominant run of league play after a four year hiatus since winning its last championship in 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball team joined its new league competing against the following softball teams; Mesirow, Old Stylin, Euromonitor, S&L Turbinators, and BP Fighting Tunas

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball navigated its new league and multiple rescheduled games due to scheduling conflicts and NASCAR in Chicago; and

WHEREAS, undeterred, the Cook County Softball team finished its regular season with five (5) wins and one (1) loss while securing the number one (1) seed for the playoffs and earning a first-round bye; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball team avenged its only loss of the season defeating Euromonitor in dominating fashion, 12-5, in the semifinals; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball team won the championship game, continuing its slow-pitch softball dominance, by defeating Old Stylin, 13-3, to become the 2023 Grant Park Co-Ed Softball League Champions; and

WHEREAS, the team's tenacity, determination, and peak Cook County athletic ability led to an impressive return to in-person, slow-pitch softball, a Chicago community staple; and

WHEREAS, more importantly, the team's camaraderie displayed a great example of the community amongst Cook County employees and served as an example of an active and fun after-hours activity for coworkers:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, President Toni Preckwinkle, and the Cook County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the residents of Cook County, does hereby express congratulations to the members of the Cook County Softball team for its impressive 2023 season capped by winning the 2023 Grant Park Co-Ed Softball League Championship; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the President and Board of Commissioners recognize the following offices for contributing players to the team: the Office of the President, the Secretary to the Cook County Board of Commissioners, the Forest Preserve District of Cook County, the office of Commissioner Alma Anaya, the office of Commissioner Frank Aguilar, the Office of Commissioner Bill Lowry, the Office of Commissioner Stanley Moore, The Office of the Chief Judge, the Office of the

File #: 23-4168, Version: 1

Cook County State's Attorney, the Office of the Cook County Historian, the Justice Advisory Council, the Office of the Medical Examiner, the Bureau of Administration, the Department of Transportation and Highways, and several retired Cook County employees; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, a suitable copy of this Resolution is presented to the following team members to commemorate their contributions to the team's success; Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle (team sponsor), Christopher Adas, Alma Anaya, Michilla Blasé, Angelo Calalang, Scottie Calderon, Gideon Charles, Avik Das, Gillian DeLeon, Matt DeLeon, Remic Enswiler, Michael Gamboney, Michelle Gan, Jake Gillespie, Jackson Gitterle, Kimberly Holley, Damon Howell, Alexis Jenkins, Enrique Lopez, Julien Russell, Andrew Tonachel, Rudy Urian (Retiree), La'Mont R. Williams, Aldine Wilson, and April Zaber;

Sponsors:

BILL LOWRY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President)

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
7/20/2023	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE COOK COUNTY GOVERNMENT SOFTBALL TEAM 2023 GRANT PARK CO-ED SOFTBALL LEAGUE CHAMPIONS

WHEREAS, the 2023 Cook County Softball team participated in its first official league play since the COVID-19 global pandemic; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball team resumed its dominant run of league play after a four year hiatus since winning its last championship in 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball team joined its new league competing against the following softball teams; Mesirow, Old Stylin, Euromonitor, S&L Turbinators, and BP Fighting Tunas

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball navigated its new league and multiple rescheduled games due to scheduling conflicts and NASCAR in Chicago; and

WHEREAS, undeterred, the Cook County Softball team finished its regular season with five (5) wins and one (1) loss while securing the number one (1) seed for the playoffs and earning a first-round bye; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball team avenged its only loss of the season defeating Euromonitor in dominating fashion, 12-5, in the semifinals; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Softball team won the championship game, continuing its slow-pitch softball dominance, by defeating Old Stylin, 13-3, to become the 2023 Grant Park Co-Ed Softball League Champions; and

WHEREAS, the team's tenacity, determination, and peak Cook County athletic ability led to an impressive return to inperson, slow-pitch softball, a Chicago community staple; and

WHEREAS, more importantly, the team's camaraderie displayed a great example of the community amongst Cook County employees and served as an example of an active and fun after-hours activity for coworkers;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, President Toni Preckwinkle, and the Cook County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the residents of Cook County, does hereby express congratulations to the members of the

File #: 23-4168, Version: 1

Cook County Softball team for its impressive 2023 season capped by winning the 2023 Grant Park Co-Ed Softball League Championship; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the President and Board of Commissioners recognize the following offices for contributing players to the team: the Office of the President, the Secretary to the Cook County Board of Commissioners, the Forest Preserve District of Cook County, the office of Commissioner Alma Anaya, the office of Commissioner Frank Aguilar, the Office of Commissioner Bill Lowry, the Office of Commissioner Stanley Moore, The Office of the Chief Judge, the Office of the Cook County State's Attorney, the Office of the Cook County Historian, the Justice Advisory Council, the Office of the Medical Examiner, the Bureau of Administration, the Department of Transportation and Highways, and several retired Cook County employees; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, a suitable copy of this Resolution is presented to the following team members to commemorate their contributions to the team's success; Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle (team sponsor), Christopher Adas, Alma Anaya, Michilla Blasé, Angelo Calalang, Scottie Calderon, Gideon Charles, Avik Das, Gillian DeLeon, Matt DeLeon, Remic Enswiler, Michael Gamboney, Michelle Gan, Jake Gillespie, Jackson Gitterle, Kimberly Holley, Damon Howell, Alexis Jenkins, Enrique Lopez, Julien Russell, Andrew Tonachel, Rudy Urian (Retiree), La'Mont R. Williams, Aldine Wilson, and April Zaber;