



## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 16-2680 Version: 1 Name: HONORING WHITNEY M. YOUNG HIGH SCHOOL

LADY DOLPHINS 2016 SOPHOMORE CITY

**CHAMPS** 

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 4/12/2016 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 4/13/2016 Final action: 4/13/2016

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING WHITNEY M. YOUNG HIGH SCHOOL LADY DOLPHINS 2016 SOPHOMORE CITY

**CHAMPS** 

WHEREAS, the Whitney M. Young Lady Dolphins Sophomore team had a remarkable undefeated season of 21-0 very similar to the Women's Conn Huskies who also went undefeated this season; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Board of Commissioners are very proud to recognize excellence in high school academics, sports and team loyalty; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Board of Commissioners recognizes the importance of team sports in developing the qualities of respect, collaboration, hard work and dedication in our young citizens; and

WHEREAS, the road to the championship game included 1st round a win over Prosser High School 38-14, 2nd Round playoff win versus Lane Tech 41-22, and a Semifinal win over Taft 50-41; and

WHEREAS, the girls Sophomore team of Whitney M. Young High School, defeated Morgan Park High School 47-25 in the Public League title game; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Valerie Spann led the winning team to success and Administrative Leader is Dr. Joyce Kenner; and

WHEREAS, the Dolphins are also the Montini Christmas Tournament the Kaneland Tournament Champions; and

WHEREAS, Teammates, Teya Boyd, Kapri Currie, Quiara Dubose, Mia Englemann, Chandler Gay, Kennedy Higginbottom, Audrey Howaniec, Kyla Jones, Daniella Kittrell, Arya Love, Makayla Minett, Shannon Wilbourne, and Kayla Williams are to be congratulated on leading Whitney M. Young High School Girls Sophomore Basketball team to a great season and impressive championship we are all proud of.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IR RESOLVED that members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners join the Whitney M. Young School family, friends and community in congratulating the coaching staff and team members of the Whitney M. Young team on their great achievement and their sense of teamwork, respect, hard work and dedication.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread across the official text of the proceedings of this honorable body and that suitable copies hereof be presented to the administration, coaching staff and team members in honor of this occasion.

Sponsors: ROBERT STEELE, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN,

JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

File #: 16-2680, Version: 1

**TOBOLSKI** 

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/13/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass