



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 17-1111 Version: 1 Name: CELEBRATING THE 93rd BIRTHDAY OF

REVEREND WALLACE SYKES

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 1/11/2017 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 1/17/2017 Final action: 1/17/2017

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CELEBRATING THE 93rd BIRTHDAY OF REVEREND WALLACE SYKES

WHEREAS, Reverend Wallace Sykes was born on December 21, 1923 in Starksville, Mississippi and celebrated his 93rd birthday in December 2016; and

WHEREAS, Reverend Sykes moved to Maywood, Illinois, in 1943 and became a deacon and trustee of the Second Baptist Church as well as superintendent of the church's Sunday school; and

WHEREAS, in 1957 Reverend Sykes entered the ministry and was ordained in 1961; and

WHEREAS, in that time, Reverend Sykes has worked diligently in executing programs for youth fellowship, senior citizens, mentoring, feeding the hungry, substance abuse, and transitional living; and

WHEREAS, Reverend Sykes has led and worshipped at Second Baptist for more than half of its 112year history; and

WHEREAS, Reverend Sykes has ushered in more than 54 years of great growth at Second Baptist as the congregation grew to a facility that seats 1,200, has full parking lots on Sundays, and expanded classroom settings for Bible study and music study; and

WHEREAS, Reverend Sykes raised five children who have gone on to do great things; and

WHEREAS, Generations to come will benefit from the good work Reverend Sykes has done and will continue to do in the Village of Maywood; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners Reverend Wallace Sykes is to be honored on the occasion of his 93rd birthday, and that the sincere appreciation of the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners be extended to Reverend Wallace Sykes for his service to his Church and to the wider community.

Sponsors: RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER,

JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/17/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass