



## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 16-1420 Version: 1 Name: THANKING POLICE OFFICERS ROBERT

CAVAIANI AND NICHOLAS PICICCI FOR THEIR

LIFE-SAVING WORK

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 1/28/2016 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 2/10/2016 Final action: 2/10/2016

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

THANKING POLICE OFFICERS ROBERT CAVAIANI AND NICHOLAS PICICCI FOR THEIR LIFE-

**SAVING WORK** 

WHEREAS, when Chicago police officers Robert Cavaiani and Nicholas Picicci arrived on the scene of a medical emergency at the 3100 block of North Marmora Avenue on November 8, 2015, the

situation was bleak; and

WHEREAS, officers Robert Cavaiani and Nicholas Picicci were faced with a 62-year-old man unresponsive on the floor of his bathroom showing no signs of heartbeat or breathing; and

WHEREAS, officers Cavaiani and Picicci quickly and calmly assessed the situation and began performing CPR on the man; and

WHEREAS, after five minutes of officers Cavaiani and Picicci performing CPR, the man's pulse returned; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago Fire Department then brought the man to Community First Medical Center, where hospital staff confirmed that had it not been for the efforts of police officers Robert Cavaiani and Nicholas Picicci the man would have died; and

WHEREAS, police officers Cavaiani and Picicci exhibited Ernest Hemingway's definition of courage: "grace under pressure"; and

WHEREAS, the quick thinking and focused response of the officers is particularly impressive given that it was police officer Picicci's first day on the job.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby offer its sincerest thanks to Officer Cavaiani and Officer Picicci.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a ceremonial copy of this resolution be presented to the officers as a sign of the Board's gratitude.

**Sponsors:** PETER N. SILVESTRI, LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A.

FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), TIMOTHY O.

SCHNEIDER, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

## Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/10/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass