

## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## Legislation Details

File #:	16-1588 <b>Version:</b> 1	Name:	HONORING THE LIFE OF THERESA "TEESEE" FAMBRO HOOKS AWARD WINNING COLUMNIST AND PHOTOGRAPHER			
Туре:	Consent Calendar Resolution	n Status:	Approved			
File created:	2/8/2016	In control:	Board of Commissioners			
On agenda:	2/10/2016	Final action:	2/10/2016			
Title:	PROPOSED RESOLUTION					
	HONORING THE LIFE OF T AND PHOTOGRAPHER	E" FAMBRO HOOKS AWARD WINNING COLUMNIST				
	<ul> <li>Philippians 4: 6&amp;7 "Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, through prayer an petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transce understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus."</li> <li>WHEREAS, Almighty God, in His infinite wisdom, has called our Award Winning Columnist, So and Photographer Ms. Theresa "TeeSee" Fambro Hooks from our midst January 31, 2016; and WHEREAS, Ms. Hooks was a graduate of Parker (now Robeson) High School in 1953 and late attended University of Illinois, Roosevelt University and the School of Art Institute in Chicago in Fashion Design Department; and</li> </ul>					
	WHEREAS, Ms. Hooks' accomplishments as an editor and society columnist aided over thousands of readers by informing them of the latest social, community and fashion forums and events in Chicago's Black Community; and					
	WHEREAS, In 1961, Ms. Hooks started her career at the Chicago Defender as woman's editor and society columnist. She wrote an advice column under the pen name "Arletta Claire." Her column "Social Whirl" later became "TeeSee's Town." Who's Who in Chicago's Black Community was honored to be mentioned in "TeeSee's Town"; and					
	WHEREAS, Ms. Hooks was awarded The Honorary Woman of Excellence in 2015 for her exemplary coverage of high profile events on the social elite and their philanthropic work throughout the community; and					
	WHEREAS, her professional accomplishments encompass successfully managing the community/public affairs for the Chicago Residential Manpower Center at Philco-Ford, Special Assistant to the President of Olive-Harvey College for Public Information; and President and CEO of Theresa Fambro Hooks and Associates. Her ability to innovate was shifted as she became the President of Theresa Fambro Hooks and Associates, her self-initiated company.					
	WHEREAS, Theresa is the past president of the National Association of Media Women and has received numerous and distinguished awards such as: Black Expo's Phenomenal Woman Award, the Black Public Relations Society's Life Time Achievement Award, the Russ Ewing Legacy Award of Excellence, Outstanding Journalist Award from the Chicago Association of Black Journalism and the Fashion Connection Award; and					

WHEREAS, Theresa "TeeSee" Fambro Hooks, was an active an faithful member of the Trinity United Church of Christ under the leadership of Pastor Otis Moss; and

WHEREAS, Theresa "TeeSee" Fambro Hooks had an accomplished and distinguished journalist

	career' and
	WHEREAS, Theresa "TeeSee" Fambro Hooks physical presence maybe gone but she should forever live in hearts as a woman who loved and served the Lord and touched the lives of many by reaching her readers with
	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that I, Robert B. Steele President Pro-Tempore of the Cook County Board along with the Cook County Board of Commissioners, and on behalf of the 5.2 million residents of Cook County, do extend their deepest condolences and most heartfelt sympathy to the family as well as to the many friends and loved ones of Theresa "TeeSee" Fambro Hooks for me join them in their time of sorrow during this time of loss.
	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be tendered to the family of Theresa "TeeSee" Fambro Hooks and a copy is spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body.
Sponsors:	ROBERT STEELE, LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI
Indexes:	
Code sections:	
Attachments:	

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/10/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass