

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Text

File #: 24-3662, Version: 1

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

RECOGNIZING CHICAGO PRIDE PARADE'S COMMUNITY GRAND MARSHALLS

WHEREAS, PRIDEChicago will host their 53rd annual Chicago Pride Parade on Sunday, June 30th; and

WHEREAS, the parade serves as the crowning event of Pride Month in Chicago, capping off a series of celebrations that unite the LGBTQ+ community; and

WHEREAS, this year, the over 150 contingents will march under the theme "Pride is Power"; and

WHEREAS, to reflect the richness of the community, as well as recognize and celebrating the beautiful diversity of those celebrating Pride Month, PRIDEChicago selects a choice few to serve as Pride Parade's Community Grand Marshalls; and

WHEREAS, PRIDEChicago has hosted numerous grand marshals from the world of sports, music, film, and TV, including John Amaechi (2007), Eric Alva (2008), Billy Bean (2003), Alexandra Billings (2009), Orlando Cruz (2018), Wilson Cruz (2005), Lea Delaria (2017), Wade Davis (2013), Ty Herndon (2015), Greg Louganis (1999), Chuck Panozzo (2002), Monica Raymund (2016), Fernanda Rocha (2011), Will Sheridan (2014), George Takei (2006), Esera Tuaolo (2004), Evan Wolfson (2012), Chely Wright (2010); and

WHEREAS, longtime LGBTQ+ activists, community organizers and high-profile transgender couple Myles and Precious Brady-Davis have been selected as 2024 Grand Marshalls; and

WHEREAS, Myles Brady-Davis is communications director of Equality Illinois, and Precious Brady-Davis recently became the first Black transgender person appointed to public office in Cook County, became the first trans person to serve on a water reclamation board in U.S. history, and additionally wrote the best-selling book, *I Have Always Been Me*; and

WHEREAS, Chicago activists and bar owners Art Johnston and Jose "Pepe" Pena have also been selected as 2024 Grand Marshalls; and

WHEREAS, the duo, nationally recognized LGBTQ+ civil rights leaders and the subject of an award-winning feature documentary, *ART AND PEP*, opened the iconic gay bar Sidetrack in 1982, and fueled a civil rights movement that is still active today; and

WHEREAS, Johnston was additionally an integral organizer in passage of Chicago and Cook County human rights legislation and was a co-founder of the Illinois Federation for Human Rights, now known as Equality Illinois; and

WHEREAS, during this month of Pride, it is vital that we uplift those who continue to loudly and proudly fight to affirm, welcome, and protect the LGBTQ+ community;

File #: 24-3662, Version: 1

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does herby offer its wholehearted congratulations to Myles and Precious Brady-Davis and Art Johnston and Jose "Pepe" Pena on their selection as the Community Grand Marshalls for the 2024 Chicago Pride Parade; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that suitable copies of this resolution are presented to Myles and Precious Brady-Davis and Art Johnston and Jose "Pepe" Pena in recognition of their selection.