



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 13-2246 Version: 1 Name: A RESOLUTION CELEBRATING THE VILLAGE OF

LYONS' 125th ANNIVERSARY

Type:Consent Calendar ResolutionStatus:ApprovedFile created:11/8/2013In control:TobolskiOn agenda:11/13/2013Final action:11/13/2013

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION CELEBRATING THE VILLAGE OF LYONS' 125th ANNIVERSARY

WHEREAS, the Village of Lyons was Incorporated in 1888, and is steeped in deep historical roots; and

WHEREAS, in 1673 French Explorer Louis Joliet and Jesuit missionary Father Pierre Marquette left Green Bay, Wisconsin by canoe in search of a western passage to the Pacific, and to save time the Pottawatomie Indians that were with them encouraged a change in the course to the Illinois River; and

WHEREAS, this shortcut led to the Des Plaines River and caused these travelers to discover "Le Portage;" a half mile wide area of land connecting the Chicago River and the Des Plaines River now known as the "Gateway to the West;" and

WHEREAS, this discovery led to the founding of Lyons as well as Chicago becoming a center for world trade; and

WHEREAS, the Village of Lyons boasts many treasures such as the Chicago Portage National Historic Site and Hofmann Tower, an eight story castle-like structure built in 1908 by George Hofmann, Jr.; and

WHEREAS, hundreds of residents gathered in Veterans Park on Sunday October 13, 2013 for a picnic in honor of the village's 125th year anniversary, and featured a wide range of family and children's entertainment: and

NOW, THEREFORE,BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of Cook County hereby congratulates Mayor Christopher Getty, the Village Trustees, and the great citizens of Lyons for celebrating 125 years as a municipality; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this resolution be tendered to Mayor Getty and the Village Board of Trustees in recognition of this momentous event, and that it also be spread upon the proceedings of this honorable body.

Sponsors: JERRY BUTLER, EARLEAN COLLINS, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER,

JESÚS G. GARCÍA, ELIZABETH "LIZ" DOODY GORMAN, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), EDWIN REYES, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN,

JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

	Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
_					

File #: 13-2246, Version: 1								
11/13/2013	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass				