

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Details

File #: 21-3764 Version: 1 Name: HONORING THE LIVES OF COOK COUNTY 13TH

DISTRICT RESIDENTS WHO DIED FROM COVID-

19 BETWEEN MAY 2, 2021 AND JUNE 13.

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 6/15/2021 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 6/24/2021 Final action: 6/24/2021

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE LIVES OF COOK COUNTY 13TH DISTRICT RESIDENTS WHO DIED FROM

COVID-19 BETWEEN MAY 2, 2021 AND JUNE 13, 2021, IN MEMORIAM

WHEREAS, Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) is a deadly infectious disease that has swept

across our County, state, nation and world; and

WHEREAS, anyone can contract COVID-19, regardless of race, color, sex, age, religion, disability,

national origin, ancestry, sexual orientation, or gender identity; and

WHEREAS, as of June 13, 2021, COVID-19 had killed more than 3.8 million worldwide, 598,000 in

the United States, 25,000 in Illinois and 10,800 in Cook County; and

WHEREAS, between May 2, 2021, and June 13, 2021, 23 residents who lived in the 13th District of

Cook County died from COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, as of June 13, 2021, COVID-19 had killed more than one thousand residents who lived in

the 13th District of Cook County; and

WHEREAS, each of the departed leave family, friends and communities in mourning; and

WHEREAS, Almighty God in His infinite wisdom has called the below 13th District residents from our

midst:

Chicago

Jose Gomez-Vega, Enrique Herrera and John Stanley.

Evanston

Felipe Vallarta and Anthony Sturkey.

Glenview

Elizabeth Dwyer and Perry Nakachi.

Morton Grove

Elizabeth Kotebinan, Gerald A. Arkus and Astar Toma.

Niles

Polina Shlosberg, James Ezenwa, Lily Thi Le and Abel Mora Perez.

Skokie

Roma Tato, Ishak Younan, Jeffrey Henderson, Jose Fernandez, Afzal Kazi, Behzad Chemel-Amiran,

Tom Omachi and Wardia Nona.

Winnetka

File #: 21-3764, Version: 1

Norman Simons.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Commissioners of Cook County, on behalf of the 5.2 million residents of Cook County, commemorates the lives of the COOK COUNTY 13TH DISTRICT RESIDENTS WHO DIED FROM COVID-19 BETWEEN MAY 2, 2021 AND JUNE 13, 2021, and herewith expresses its sincere condolences to their friends, families and communities.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body...end

Sponsors:

LARRY SUFFREDIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/24/2021	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass