



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 16-0889 Version: 1 Name: CONGRATULATING THE PHILLIPS ACADAMY

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 12/30/2015 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 2/10/2016 Final action: 2/10/2016

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE PHILLIPS ACADEMY WILDCATS: 2015 IHSA CLASS 4A FOOTBALL STATE CHAMPIONS

WHEREAS, at 111 years old, Wendell Phillips Academy High School is one of the oldest high schools in the City of Chicago, and boasts alumni such as Sam Cooke, Nat King Cole, and Gwendolyn Brooks; and

WHEREAS, on October 27, 2015 the Wendell Phillips Academy Wildcats defeated the Althoff Crusaders (Belleville, IL) 51-7 to complete an undefeated 2015 season and clinch the Class 4A IHSA state football championship; and

WHEREAS, during their record setting run the Wildcats have only trailed once throughout their 2015 campaign, and outscored all opponents 543-87. They have beaten all of their opponents by an average of 35 points per game; and

WHEREAS, the Phillips Wildcats are the first team from the City of Chicago's Public School League to capture a state football championship; and

WHEREAS, the Wildcats are only the third Chicago public high school to reach a IHSA football state finals since the IHSA football playoffs were created in 1974; and

WHEREAS, the Wildcats offense amassed 4,393 rushing yards this season. They were led by junior running back Kamari Mosby (2,246 rushing yards, 18 TDs) and quarterback Quayvon Skanes (1,317 rushing yards, 32 touchdowns); and

WHEREAS, the Wildcats defense only allowed an average of 6.69 points per game. They were led by Chriss Elmore (146 tackles, 22 for loss, 11 sacks) and Amir Watts (128 Tackles, 31 for loss, 7 sacks); and

WHEREAS, all of the team's 19 seniors: Donald Gardner, David Munson, Qadeer Weatherly, Quayvon Skanes, Amani Jones, Chris Mabry, Amir Watts, Devin Jones, Tobias Nellum, Darnell Willis, Calvin Watkins, Christopher Stephens, Kentrell Johnson, Raiken Strong, Gabriel Tyson, Adisen Broughton, Marzeek Williams, Isaac Osei, and Roderick Clay, are on track to graduate; and

WHEREAS, the Wildcats are led by their head coach, Troy McAllister, who began his tenure at Phillips in the spring of 2009.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners that we, along with the citizens of Cook County, congratulate the 2015 Wendell Phillips Academy Wildcats on their 2015 IHSA state championship and perfect season; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this text be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body, and a suitable copy of the same be tendered to Wendell Philips Academy.

Sponsors: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), JERRY BUTLER, LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN,

File #: 16-0889, Version: 1

STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/10/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass