



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 13-1830 Version: 1 Name: CELEBRATING ANN MCGOWAN'S 105TH

BIRTHDAY

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 10/1/2013 In control: Daley

On agenda: 10/2/2013 Final action: 10/2/2013

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CELEBRATING ANN MCGOWAN'S 105TH BIRTHDAY

WHEREAS, it has come to the attention of the Cook County Board of Commissioners that Ann McGowan will celebrate her 105th Birthday on October 14, 2013; and

WHEREAS Ann McGowan has witnessed monumental events over the course of her lifetime such as: World War I, Russian Revolution, 1917, First Commercial Radio Station, 1920, Era of Depression, 1929-1939, Spanish Civil War, 1936-1939, World War II, 1939-1945, Korean War, 1950-1953, Russian Sputnik, 1957, President Kennedy Assassination, November 1963, First Moon Landing July 20, 1969, Vietnam War, 1965-1973, the advent of the internet, the Super Bowl Champion Chicago Bears in 1985, White Sox World Series Championship in 2005, the Chicago Blackhawks Stanley Cup Championships, and the dawn of a new Millennium, and

WHEREAS on September 22, 2013, Ann McGowan celebrates her upcoming 105th Birthday with a special gathering of family, friends, neighbors, and fellow Centenarians at Smith Village, a continuing care retirement community on Chicago's Beverly neighborhood, now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby extend its warmest wishes and congratulations to Ann McGowan on the occasion of her 105th Birthday, and join all who have had the pleasure of her friendship in wishing her still more years of good health and richly deserved happiness, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this text be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body, and an official copy of same be presented to Ann McGowan to commemorate this joyous occasion.

Sponsors:

JERRY BUTLER, EARLEAN COLLINS, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, ELIZABETH "LIZ" DOODY GORMAN, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), EDWIN REYES, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/2/2013	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass