



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 13-2244 Version: 1 Name: A RESOLUTION CELEBRATING THE VILLAGE OF

STICKNEY'S 100th ANNIVERSARY

Type:Consent Calendar ResolutionStatus:ApprovedFile created:11/8/2013In control:TobolskiOn agenda:11/13/2013Final action:11/13/2013

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION CELEBRATING THE VILLAGE OF STICKNEY'S 100th ANNIVERSARY

WHEREAS, until about 1900 most of the village of Stickney was covered by Mud Lake, a large marshy area stretching from Chicago to Lyons; and

WHEREAS, by 1900 the Sanitary and Ship Canal had left it relatively dry, leaving developers to build on the reclaimed land of what is now Stickney; and

WHEREAS, in 1913 the village of Stickney was established from Stickney Township land and named after Alpheus B. Stickney, a railroad executive who played a central role in establishing the Clearing Industrial District; and

WHEREAS, the early years of the village were marked by makeshift venues for official meetings which included the Hawthorne racetrack and Mount Auburn Cemetery; and

WHEREAS, Stickney's population increased after World War II reaching 6,239 by 1960; and with much vacant land remaining, the village allowed bondholders to take over land with unpaid taxes, and home construction boomed; and

WHEREAS, Stickney residents enjoy the safe, quiet streets and close-knit ties with neighbors of various different ethnicities: and

WHEREAS, 2013 marks the Centennial anniversary of the founding of Stickney; and

NOW, THEREFORE,BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of Cook County hereby congratulates Mayor Deborah Morelli, the Village Board, and the great citizens of Stickney for celebrating 100 years as a municipality; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this resolution be tendered to Mayor Morelli and the Village Board in recognition of this momentous event, and that it also be spread upon the proceedings of this honorable body.

Sponsors: JERRY BUTLER, EARLEAN COLLINS, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER,

JESÚS G. GARCÍA, ELIZABETH "LIZ" DOODY GORMAN, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), EDWIN REYES, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN,

JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/13/2013	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass