



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 14-3273 Version: 1 Name: MARSHALL METROPOLITAN HIGH SCHOOL-

FARADAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL ON WINNING

THE NATIONAL CHESS CHAMPIONSHIPS 2014

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 5/19/2014 In control: Steele

On agenda: 5/21/2014 Final action: 5/21/2014

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING MARSHALL METROPOLITAN HIGH SCHOOL-FARADAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL ON

WINNING THE NATIONAL CHESS CHAMPIONSHIPS 2014

Whereas, in 2009 Joseph M. Ocol, Math Teacher and Chess Coach at Marshall Metropolitan High School-Faraday Elementary School in Chicago, IL began the Marshall-Faraday Chess Mentoring and

Partnership Program; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Marshall-Faraday Chess Team and Mentoring Program are: Aerious Adams, Armon Adams, Armoni Adams, Jacquez Adams, Bobby Blankenship, Lamari Childs, Antoine Christopher, Tiara Fearon, Bradley Green, Dominque Harold, Michael Hobbs, Mikayla Phillips, Taylor Phillips, Darrell Taylor, and Taylor Watts; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ocol vision mainly was to save the lives of children in the Garfield Community; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ocol shared his philosophy with his students that trophies and medals are not as important as the values that they impart and share to the world in service to humanity and to God's glory; and

WHEREAS, this experience has imparted collaboration, discipline, and commitment in our youth; and

WHEREAS, Chess is a game of skill; and

Whereas, Bobby Blankenship an 11th grader at Marshall Metropolitan High School won the Illinois State championship trophy in the High School Chess Championship held February 13 to 15, 2014 in Peoria, IL; and

Whereas, Bobby Blankenship along with Michael Hobbs, from Marshall Metropolitan High School went on to compete in the National Championship trophy for U800 Section in the National K-12 Scholastic Chess Championship held April 3 to 6, 2014 in San Diego, CA; and

WHEREAS, Marshall had the least number of members participating in the tournament because they were only able to send two of its players; and

WHEREAS, the National K-12 Scholastic Chess Championship tournament has been under the supervision and sponsorship of the United States Chess Federation, the highest official governing body of chess in the United States which hundreds of schools participating throughout the Country; and

Whereas, Bobby Blankenship competed against numerous students and won The National Individual Championship trophy; and

Whereas, Michael Hobbs, Bobby's team member finished in 11th Place; and

File #: 14-3273, Version: 1

WHEREAS, in addition the Faraday Elementary School chess team led by Lamari Childs and Tiara Feron both 8th graders participated in the 11th All Girls National Tournament that was sponsored by the Kasparov Foundation and the Renaissance Knights Foundation held in Northbrook. IL. April 11-13, 2014; and

WHEREAS, Lamari Childs and Tiara Fearon won the National Championship trophy for the Under 16 years-old girls Section of the tournament.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that I Toni Preckwinkle, President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners along with the Board of Commissioners do hereby congratulate Ms. Angel Johnson, Principal of Marshall Metropolitan High School, Mr. Cederall Petties, Principal of Faraday Elementary School, Mr. Joseph Ocol, Coach, Marshall and Faraday Chess Teams, and Math Teacher of Marshall Metropolitan High School, Bobby Blankenship, Lamari Childs, Tiara Fearon, for their commitment, dedication and success in winning The National Chess Championships and members of the chess mentoring and partnership program.

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this resolution is tendered to this honorable body and a copy of the same be given to Ms. Angel Johnson, Principal of Marshall Metropolitan High School, Mr. Cederall Petties, Principal of Faraday Elementary School, Mr. Joseph Ocol, Math and Chess Coach of Marshall Metropolitan High School-Faraday Elementary School, Bobby Blankenship, Lamari Childs, and Tiara Fearon and members of the chess mentoring and partnership program to commemorate this auspicious occasion.

Sponsors:

ROBERT STEELE, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), JERRY BUTLER, EARLEAN COLLINS, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, ELIZABETH "LIZ" DOODY GORMAN, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, EDWIN REYES, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/21/2014	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass