



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 15-1231 Version: 1 Name: HONORING MARSHALL HIGH SCHOOL-

FARADAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL CHESS

MENTORING AND PARTNERSHIP

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 1/15/2015 In control: Secretary to the Board

On agenda: 1/21/2015 Final action: 1/21/2015

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING MARSHALL METROPOLITAN HIGH SCHOOL-FARADAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

CHESS MENTORING AND PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM

WHEREAS, in 2009 Joseph M. Ocol, Math Teacher and Chess Coach at Marshall Metropolitan High School-Faraday Elementary School in Chicago, IL began the Marshall-Faraday Chess Mentoring and Partnership Program; and

WHEREAS, the current members of the Marshall-Faraday Chess Mentoring and Partnership Program are: Bobby Blankenship, Michael Hobbs, Charlie Wiley, Xavier Francher, Devell Conway, Jeremiah Townsend, Jimmeone Jackson, Juwan Jackson, Corey Benamon, Almier Dowdell, Latimer Mason, Taylor Watts, Antoine Christopher, Dominique Harold, Mikayla Phillips, Taylor Phillips, and Darrell Taylor; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ocol's vision mainly was to save the lives of children in the West Garfield Community; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ocol shared his philosophy with his students that trophies and medals are not as important as the values that they impart and share to the world in service to humanity and to God's glory; and

WHEREAS, this experience has imparted collaboration, discipline, and commitment in our youth; and

WHEREAS, Chess is a game of skill, honor and gamesmanship; and

WHEREAS, Marshall Metropolitan High School and Faraday Elementary School were the only two non-selective schools from Chicago Public Schools that competed in the 2014 National K-12 Grade Chess Championships held last December 12 to 14, 2014 in Orlando, Florida; and

WHEREAS, Devell Conway, Xavier Francher, Bobby Blankenship, Michael Hobbs, and Charlie Wiley from Marshall Metropolitan High School and Darrell Taylor, Antoine Christopher, Taylor Phillips and Mikayla Phillips from Faraday Elementary School competed in the National K-12 Grade Chess Championships; and

WHEREAS, two Marshall students--Devell Conway and Xavier Francher-- competed for the first time in a USCF tournament and despite being unrated and first-timers in a USCF national tournament, Devell Conway won 2nd place national trophy and Xavier Francher won 3rd place national trophy in the Unrated Section; and

WHEREAS, trips to the USCF national tournaments in California and Florida would not have been possible had it not been for Mr. Marty Grund (Vice President for Online Operations of the Internet Chess Club) and for the generosity of members of the Internet Chess Club from all over the world who assisted these talented young players in competing; and

File #: 15-1231, Version: 1

WHEREAS, on January 10, 2015, Antoine Christopher of Faraday Elementary School chess team won 1st place championship trophy in the YCFC Chess Tournament's Novice Grade 7-8 Section of the YCFC Chess Tournament in Chicago, which YCFC was participated in by about 300 elementary school students from all over Chicago.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that I Toni Preckwinkle, President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners along with the Board of Commissioners do hereby congratulate Dr. Lori Campbell, Principal of Marshall Metropolitan High School, Dr. Tawana Williams, Principal of Faraday Elementary School, Mr. Joseph Ocol, Coach, Mr. Marty Grund, Vice President for Online Operations of the Internet Chess Club and members of the Marshall and Faraday Chess Mentoring and Partnership Program. We thank both schools leadership for their commitment, dedication and success in supporting the Marshall-Faraday Chess Mentoring and Partnership Program, and in winning four USCF national trophies in 2014 and one YCFC championship trophy in 2015, and for pursuing the program to save lives of our kids in Chicago through chess.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this resolution is tendered to this honorable body and a copy of the same be given to congratulate the administrative leadership staff at both Marshall Metropolitan High School and Faraday Elementary School along with members of the chess mentoring and partnership program to commemorate this auspicious occasion.

Sponsors:

ROBERT STEELE, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, ELIZABETH "LIZ" DOODY GORMAN, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/21/2015	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass