



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 15-3662 Version: 1 Name: CONGRATULATING ST. BARBARA SCHOOL

PRINCIPAL DORENE HURCKES ON HER

RETIREMENT

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 5/27/2015 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 6/10/2015 **Final action:** 6/10/2015

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING ST. BARBARA SCHOOL PRINCIPAL DORENE HURCKES ON HER

RETIREMENT

WHEREAS it has come to the attention of the Cook County Board of Commissioners that St. Barbara School Principal Dorene Hurckes has announced that she will retire at the end of the school year, and

WHEREAS in celebration of Principal Hurckes' long educational career and devotion to St. Barbara School for forty-four years there will be a mass of thanksgiving on Sunday, May 31, 2015, and

WHEREAS Mrs. Hurckes came to St. Barbara School as a kindergarten teacher in 1971, and

WHEREAS Mrs. Hurckes became Principal in 1988 and then assumed the additional role of High School Principal from 1996 to 2001, and

WHEREAS Mrs. Hurckes received her Bachelor's degree in education from DePaul University and her Master's degree from St. Xavier University, and

WHEREAS Mrs. Hurckes has been married to her husband Michael for over forty years and together they have two daughters, Alexandria (Hurckes) Villanueva and Jennifer (Hurckes) Murphy, both of whom are St. Barbara alumni, and

WHEREAS Principal Dorene Hurckes has impacted the lives of countless youths through her extensive career as an educator and principal, and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby extend its warmest wishes and congratulations to Dorene Hurckes on her retirement, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this text be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body, and an official copy of same be presented to Dorene Hurckes in recognition of her achievement.

Sponsors: JOHN P. DALEY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN,

JERRY BUTLER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, ELIZABETH "LIZ" DOODY GORMAN, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN,

JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/10/2015	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass