



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 15-4213 Version: 1 Name: HONORING THE VICTIMS OF THE ATTACK ON

EMANUEL AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH IN CHARLESTON. SOUTH CAROLINA

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 6/25/2015 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 7/1/2015 **Final action:** 7/1/2015

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE VICTIMS OF THE ATTACK ON EMANUEL AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL

CHURCH IN CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA

WHEREAS, on June 17, 2015, a horrific mass shooting took place during a bible study session at Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, South Carolina, where 9 innocent lives

were taken; and

WHEREAS, people worldwide mourn the loss of those taken that night: State Senator Rev. Clementa Pinckney, Rev. DePayne Middleton-Doctor, Rev. Daniel Simmons Sr., Rev. Sharonda Singleton, Cynthia Hurd, Susie Jackson, Ethel Lance, Tywanza Sanders, and Myra Thomson; and

WHEREAS, "Mother Emanuel" is one of the oldest congregations in the AME church. Its roots date back to 1816 when its original membership was organized by Rev. Morris Brown. In 1834 the church was rebuilt after being burned to the ground amid suspicion of a planned slave revolt; and

WHEREAS, we offer condolences to the families and loved ones of those killed and to the staff and congregation of "Mother Emanuel"; and

WHEREAS, we must remain steadfast in our efforts to use the light of love and tolerance to drive out the darkness caused by hatred, bigotry, and violence; and

WHEREAS, we support efforts from lawmakers and community towards healing from this terrible attack; and

WHEREAS, we have come together as a community to stand behind Charleston and all victims of hatred and bigotry, we offer prayers and support.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the Cook County residents, do hereby honor the people who lost their lives in the on June 17, 2015, in Emanuel African Methodist Church in Charleston, South Carolina.

Sponsors: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER,

JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, ELIZABETH "LIZ" DOODY GORMAN, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN,

JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
7/1/2015	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass