



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 15-5823 Version: 1 Name: CELEBRATING CHICAGO IDEAS WEEK 2015

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 10/2/2015 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 10/7/2015 **Final action:** 10/7/2015

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CELEBRATING CHICAGO IDEAS WEEK 2015

WHEREAS, October 12-18, 2015 is Chicago Ideas Week in the city of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Chicago Ideas is a movement built on the belief that when a broad spectrum of thinkers and instigators share ideas we have the power to transform our world; and

WHEREAS, 2015 marks the 5th anniversary of Chicago Ideas Week which also holds monthly events from February through June; and

WHEREAS, Chicago Ideas Week consists of 90 minute "Talks" with world-renowned leaders; hour long "Conversations" centered around timely and provocative topics; and small-group "Labs" that provide a behind-the-scenes view of Chicago Organizations; and

WHEREAS, some of the featured speakers for Chicago Ideas Week 2015 include: Michael Strahan; Martha Stewart; Gen. (Ret.) David Petraeus; Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO); Rep. John Lewis (D-GA); Mayor of Philadelphia Michael Nutter; Rebecca Minkoff; Common; Marc Lamont Hill; and a wide array of others.

WHEREAS, CIW YOU(th) provides 450 high school students from at-risk communities direct access to Chicago Ideas Week programming by providing the opportunity to go behind-the-scenes of companies and organizations and have intimate small group interactions with featured speakers; and

WHEREAS, Cook County Government is hosting a CIW YOU(th) Lab this year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the residents of Cook County, do commend and congratulate Chicago Ideas Week for all that they do to stimulate thought and progress in Chicago and Cook County.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be tendered to Chicago Ideas Week as a means of communicating our gratitude for their tireless efforts to lead Chicago and Cook County into the future.

Sponsors: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER,

JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLÍN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/7/2015	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass