



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 15-5890 Version: 1 Name: Congratulating the Cook County Government

Softball Team FOUR-time intergovernmental softball

league champions

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 10/5/2015 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 10/7/2015 Final action: 10/7/2015

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Cook County Government Softball Team FOUR-time intergovernmental softball

league champions

WHEREAS, the 2011 Cook County Softball team won the first intergovernmental softball league title with wins over the Mayor's Office and the Governor's Office; and

WHEREAS, in 2012, the Cook County Softball team returned with an even stronger team, thoroughly dominating the competition from the Mayor's Office, City Council, Governor, Senator Kirk and Chicago City Treasurer for a second undefeated season; and

WHEREAS, the 2013 Cook County team rolled to a third straight championship defeating the Mayor's Office, City Council, Governor, Chicago City Treasurer and U.S. General Accounting Office; and

WHEREAS, in 2014...well, we don't really talk about 2014; and

WHEREAS, in 2015, Cook County took to the field looking to recapture the Intergovernmental Softball championship from the Chicago City Council; and

WHEREAS, Cook County would defeat the Mayor's Office and the U.S General Accounting Office in the playoffs to advance to a rematch with the Chicago City Council in the Championship game; and

WHEREAS, in the Championship Game, the Chicago City Council brought a raucous crowd of hecklers and trash talkers, attempting to distract and demoralize Cook County; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago City Council would jump out to an early 9-4 lead, feeling overly confident of their chances; and

WHEREAS, Cook County would exhibit a "Won't Quit" spirit, climbing back into the lead with six runs in the sixth and one run in the seventh, only for the City Council to tie the game at 10 going into extra innings; and

WHEREAS, Cook County would score four runs in the top of the ninth followed by a 1-2-3 bottom of the ninth to win the 2015 Championship over the Chicago City Council 14-10; and

WHEREAS, Cook County has now won four of five intergovernmental softball championships, running their record to 35 wins and 3 losses; and

WHEREAS, the team's spirit and camaraderie were great examples of an active and fun after-hours activity for coworkers;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that President Toni Preckwinkle, and the Cook County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the residents of Cook County, does hereby express congratulations to

File #: 15-5890, Version: 1

the members of the Cook County Softball Team for 2015 on their fourth championship season;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the President and Board of Commissioners recognizes the following offices for contributing players to the team: the Office of the President, the Secretary to the Cook County Board of Commissioners, the Forest Preserve District of Cook County, the office of Commissioner Jesús G. García, the office of Commissioner Luis Arroyo Jr, the office of Commissioner Stanley Moore, the office of the State's Attorney; the office of the County Clerk, the office of the Sheriff, the Cook County Board of Review, the Department of Transportation and Highways; the Department of Facilities Management, the office of the County Auditor, the Bureau of Administration and the Department of Revenue,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution is presented to the following team members to commemorate their contributions to the team's success-Christopher Adas, Alma Anaya, the Honorable Luis Arroyo Jr, Patrick Carey, Robin Colon, Matthew DeLeon, Tim Egan, Michael Gamboney, Jake Gillespie, Joe Gitterie, Victor Hernandez, Michael Hickey, Damon Howell, Iris Millan, Nicole Pagani, Manuel Perez, Katie Rutter, Andrew Schwarm, Luis Tubens, Rudy Urian, Bob Warnock, Vannessa Yanez and the Honorable Toni Preckwinkle, President: and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution also be presented to the Mayor of Chicago, Governor of Illinois, Treasurer of Illinois and President Pro Tempore of the Chicago City Council, acknowledging their best efforts in a friendly spirit of competition.

Sponsors:

TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/7/2015	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass