



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 16-1297 Version: 1 Name: HONORING DURACLEAN INTERNATIONAL AS IT

CELEBRATES 85 YEARS IN BUSINESS

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 1/22/2016 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 2/10/2016 Final action: 2/10/2016

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING DURACLEAN INTERNATIONAL AS IT CELEBRATES 85 YEARS IN BUSINESS

WHEREAS, Duraclean International is celebrating its 85th year of solving cleaning and restoration problems for homeowners and businesses in the U.S. and overseas; and

WHEREAS, in 1930, Duraclean was founded by Irl Marshall Sr. in Racine, Wisconsin, as The Home Service Company and was based on a safe and effective cleaning solution for fine rugs and upholstery, which Irl Marshall developed; and

WHEREAS, Duraclean moved to Deerfield, Illinois, in 1938 and expanded its office and warehouse space; and

WHEREAS, in the mid-1940s, Irl Marshall changed the name of The Home Service Company to Duraclean International and changed from a Business Opportunity to a Business Format Franchise utilizing his patented process for cleaning fine fabrics; and

WHEREAS, the founding family continued to own Duraclean until 1998 when Vincent Caffarello and Wilbur Gage purchased the company; and

WHEREAS, Duraclean's services have continued to expand over the years, now offering water and fire restoration, mold remediation, commercial and residential carpet and upholstery cleaning, Persian and Oriental rug cleaning, ventilation duct cleaning, tile and grout cleaning, and hard wood floor cleaning.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby honor Duraclean International as it celebrates its 85 years in business.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a ceremonial copy of this resolution be distributed to Duraclean International.

Sponsors: PETER N. SILVESTRI, LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A.

FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

GOTINEIDER, DEBOTATIONIO, ROBERT STEELE, EARRY GOTTREDIN, SELTIM

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/10/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass