



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 16-2682 Version: 1 Name: HONORING CURIE METROPOLITAN HIGH

SCHOOL BOYS BASKETBALL

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 4/12/2016 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 4/13/2016 Final action: 4/13/2016

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING CURIE METROPOLITAN HIGH SCHOOL BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM 2016 STATE

CHAMPIONS

WHEREAS, on March 19, 2016 the boys basketball team of Marie Curie Metropolitan High School, won their first state 4A Basketball Championship in Curie history defeating Benet High School 66-59 in the final of the IHSA 4-Boys Basketball Championship game in Peoria, IL; and

WHEREAS, following the likes great Chicago High School Champions of recent years like Simeon with Jabari Parker and Whitney Young with Jahilil Okafor and Stevenson H.S. led by Jalen Brunson with two of three in Professional Basketball today. The Currie "Condors" was led by the team more so than one single player; and

WHEREAS, members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners are proud to recognize excellence in high school sports, academics and team sacrifices; and

WHEREAS, Curie Condors regular season record was 28-5 and during their post season they went 7-0:

WHEREAS, this championship was the first for Coach Michael Oliver who also is an alumni of Curie High School and their basketball program was and is elated to bring the State Championship to the Southwest Side of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Coach Oliver shares the victory with Assistant Coaches, Mohammed Farraji, Jerry Oliver, Mekiel Posey, Darryl Rice, Larry Wallace and Alethic Director Patrick Cox and Principal Allison Tingwall; and

WHEREAS, The Curie Condors were led this year by their Senior's: Capitan Devin Gage (DePaul University), Theo Owen (Undecided) and Kalon Grover (Undecided) along with several Juniors and Sophomores returning and

WHEREAS, Teammates, Devin Gage, Demarco Graham, Kalon Grover, Dennis Handy, Travon Hamilton, Darius Johnson, Elijah Joiner, Traevon Martin, Tyree Martin Theo Owens, Allante Pickens, Terry Smith Jr., as well as managers, Darrian Toney, Tony Wang, and Henry Zhong are to be congratulated on leading Marie Curie Metropolitan High School Boys Basketball team to a great season and impressive championship we are all proud of.

WHEREAS, the Chicago Public Schools has won the 4A State Boys Basketball Championship each year since 2006, Currie Metropolitan High School is the latest to carry the Championship torch.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IR RESOLVED that members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners join the Marie Cure High School family, friends and community in congratulating the coaching staff and team members of the Curie Condors Boys Basketball team on their great achievement and their sense of teamwork, respect, hard work and dedication.

File #: 16-2682, Version: 1

BE IT FURTHERE RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread across the official text of the

proceedings of this honorable body and that suitable copies hereof be presented to the administration,

coaching staff and team members in honor of this occasion.

Sponsors: ROBERT STEELE, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIŅ,

JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN À. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TIMOTHY

O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/13/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass