

## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	16-2683 <b>Version:</b> 1	Name:	HONORING WHITNEY M. YOUNG HIGH SCHOOL LADY DOLPHINS 2016 VARSITY CITY CHAMPIONS AND 4TH PLACE RUNNER- UPS FOR STATE CHAMPIONSHIP				
Туре:	Consent Calendar Resolution	Status:	Approved				
File created:	4/12/2016	In control:	Board of Commissioners				
On agenda:	4/13/2016	Final action:	4/13/2016				
Title:	PROPOSED RESOLUTION						
	HONORING WHITNEY M. YOUNG HIGH SCHOOL LADY DOLPHINS 2016 VARSITY CITY CHAMPIONS AND 4TH PLACE RUNNER- UPS FOR STATE CHAMPIONSHIP						
	WHEREAS, members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners are proud to recognize excellence in high school sports; and						
	WHEREAS, the Cook County Board of Commissioners recognizes the importance of team sports in developing the qualities of respect, collaboration, hard work and dedication in young adults; and						
	WHEREAS, the Whitney M. Young Dolphins began the season playing in San Juan Puerto Rico where they went 3-0; and						
	WHEREAS, on February 7, 2016 2016 the girls varsity team of Whitney M. Young High School, won their 8th consecutive city championship defeating Morgan Park High School 69-50 in the Public League title game at the University of Chicago's Ratner Center; and						
	WHEREAS, The Dolphins regular season of 22-5 have captured eighth consecutive city titles and 11 of the last 12 under coach Corry Irvin; and						
	WHEREAS, Coach Irvin shares the victory with Assistant Coach, Daryl Cater, Hank Hicks; Sophomore Coach Valerie Spann, Freshman Coach Gary Lewis and Principal Dr. Joyce Kenner; and						
	WHEREAS, The Whitney Young Dolphins were led this year by their Seniors: Kiara Lewis (Committed to The Ohio State University (Basketball Scholarship), Isabelle Spingola- Committed to Marquette University (Basketball Scholarship), and Jala Wilson (undecided); and						
	WHEREAS, Kiara Lewis averaged 25.5 points per game, scored over 30 points eight times this season which included a season high of 47 points in a win against Marshall High School during the City semifinals match. In addition Kiara Lewis was named Illinois Gatorade player of the Year, 1st team All State, Jordan Brand All American, and 2nd Team All USA Today All American; and						
	WHEREAS, Isabelle Spingola, was named to the all-conference team; and						
	WHEREAS, the Lady Dolphins went on to compete in the regionals, sectionals, and supersectionals games beating Jones College Prep, Morton, Lyons Township, Proviso East and Homewood Flossmoor high schools before finishing fourth place for the State Championship game; and						
	WHEREAS, Teammates, Savannah Altman, Breanna Beck, Tyra Beck, Brooklyn Fort Davis, Kiara Lewis, Ashanti Andrews Lumpkin, Isabelle Spingola, Adrienne Truitt, Jala Wilson, Danyelle Williams, are to be congratulated on leading Whitney M. Young High School Girls Varsity Basketball team to a great season and impressive championship we are all proud of.						

Sponsors: ROBERT STEELE, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA		NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners join the Whitney M. Young School family, friends and community in congratulating the coaching staff and team members of the Whitney M. Young team on their great achievement and their sense of teamwork, respect, hard work and dedication. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread across the official text of the proceedings of this honorable body and that suitable copies hereof be presented to the administration, coaching
	Sponsors:	
	Indexes:	
Code sections:	Code sections:	
Attachments:	Attachments:	

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result	
4/13/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass	

## **PROPOSED RESOLUTION**

## HONORING WHITNEY M. YOUNG HIGH SCHOOL LADY DOLPHINS 2016 VARSITY CITY CHAMPIONS AND 4<sup>TH</sup> PLACE RUNNER- UPS FOR STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners are proud to recognize excellence in high school sports; and

**WHEREAS**, the Cook County Board of Commissioners recognizes the importance of team sports in developing the qualities of respect, collaboration, hard work and dedication in young adults; and

WHEREAS, the Whitney M. Young Dolphins began the season playing in San Juan Puerto Rico where they went 3-0; and

**WHEREAS,** on February 7, 2016 2016 the girls varsity team of Whitney M. Young High School, won their 8th consecutive city championship defeating Morgan Park High School 69-50 in the Public League title game at the University of Chicago's Ratner Center; and

**WHEREAS**, The Dolphins regular season of 22-5 have captured eighth consecutive city titles and 11 of the last 12 under coach Corry Irvin; and

WHEREAS, Coach Irvin shares the victory with Assistant Coach, Daryl Cater, Hank Hicks; Sophomore Coach Valerie Spann, Freshman Coach Gary Lewis and Principal Dr. Joyce Kenner; and

**WHEREAS,** The Whitney Young Dolphins were led this year by their Seniors: Kiara Lewis (Committed to The Ohio State University (Basketball Scholarship), Isabelle Spingola- Committed to Marquette University (Basketball Scholarship), and Jala Wilson (undecided); and

**WHEREAS**, Kiara Lewis averaged 25.5 points per game, scored over 30 points eight times this season which included a season high of 47 points in a win against Marshall High School during the City semifinals match. In addition Kiara Lewis was named Illinois Gatorade player of the Year, 1<sup>st</sup> team All State, Jordan Brand All American, and 2<sup>nd</sup> Team All USA Today All American; and

WHEREAS, Isabelle Spingola, was named to the all-conference team; and

**WHEREAS**, the Lady Dolphins went on to compete in the regionals, sectionals, and supersectionals games beating Jones College Prep, Morton, Lyons Township, Proviso East and Homewood Flossmoor high schools before finishing fourth place for the State Championship game; and

**WHEREAS**, Teammates, Savannah Altman, Breanna Beck, Tyra Beck, Brooklyn Fort Davis, Kiara Lewis, Ashanti Andrews Lumpkin, Isabelle Spingola, Adrienne Truitt, Jala Wilson, Danyelle Williams, are to be congratulated on leading Whitney M. Young High School Girls Varsity Basketball team to a great season and impressive championship we are all proud of.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners join the Whitney M. Young School family, friends and community in congratulating the coaching staff and team members of the Whitney M. Young team on their great achievement and their sense of teamwork, respect, hard work and dedication.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that this resolution be spread across the official text of the proceedings of this honorable body and that suitable copies hereof be presented to the administration, coaching staff and team members in honor of this occasion.