

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Details

File #: 16-5214 Version: 1 Name: HONORING THE LIFE OF ELIJAH SIMS

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 9/8/2016 In control: Board of Commissioners

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE LIFE OF ELIJAH SIMS

WHEREAS, on August 29, 2016, Elijah Sims, a resident of the 1st District of Cook County, and the Village of Oak Park, and a student at Oak Park River Forest High School, was tragically shot and killed in Chicago just two days before his 17th birthday; and,

WHEREAS, Elijah Sims was born in Chicago, Illinois, on August 31, 1999 to Sharita Galloway and Calvin Galloway; and,

WHEREAS, Elijah Sims was grew up in the 1st District of Cook County, on the West Side of Chicago, and attended school in Oak Park, where he was known by his fellow students at Oak Park River Forest High School for his sense of humor and his kindness; and,

WHEREAS, Elijah Sims was a creative young man with a passion for the arts, who would compose and record his own original music; and,

WHEREAS, Elijah Sims was a valued employee of Pete's Fresh Market; and,

WHEREAS, Elijah Sims' ambition was to attend college and become a nurse; and,

WHEREAS, Elijah Sims was a young man with big dreams and clear goals for his life; and,

WHEREAS, Elijah Sims had made considerable progress toward achieving his goals and realizing his dreams; and,

WHEREAS, the untimely and tragic passing of Elijah Sims underscores the urgent need for local, state and federal action to end the senseless and horrific epidemic of gun violence that continues to plague Chicago and Cook County;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners honor the life of Elijah Sims; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners extend deepest sympathies and condolences to his family and many friends of Elijah Sims.

Sponsors: RICHARD R. BOYKIN, LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY,

BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), TIMOTHY O.

SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN,

JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

File #: 16-5214, Version: 1

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/14/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass