

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #:	16-5996	Version: 1	Name:	HONORING THE LIFE OF IBERIA HAMPTON	1	
Туре:	Consent Cale	ndar Resolution	Status:	Approved		
File created:	10/19/2016		In control:	Board of Commissioners		
On agenda:	10/26/2016		Final action:	10/26/2016		
Title:	PROPOSED RESOLUTION					
	HONORING THE LIFE OF IBERIA HAMPTON					
	WHEREAS, almighty God in his infinite wisdom, called civil rights champion Iberia Hampton from our midst on October 17, 2016 at the age of 95; and,					
	WHEREAS, Iberia Hampton moved, with her husband Francis, from Haynesville, Louisiana as part of the Great Migration in the 1930s, to Argo, Illinois, and then to Blue Island, Illinois, finally settling in Maywood, Illinois in 1958; and,					
	WHEREAS, Iberia Hampton and her husband Francis raised three children, Delores, Fred and William in the Village of Maywood; and,					
	WHEREAS, Iberia Hampton was a longstanding figure in Chicago's civil rights arena; and,					
	WHEREAS, Iberia Hampton's son Fred was a renowned civil rights activist who inspired generations of community activists to create change; and,					
	WHEREAS, following her son Fred's tragic murder in 1969, Iberia Hampton courageously and persistently continued her fight to preserve her son's memory and advance the cause of equality in her community and beyond; and,					
	WHEREAS, Iberia Hampton fought to preserve her son's memory and advocated for equality tirelessly her entire life; and,					
	WHEREAS, the legacy of Iberia Hampton to the Maywood community, the 1st District of Cook County, Chicago, Illinois and the nation is to be honored, celebrated and studied;					
	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners honor the life of Iberia Hampton and extend deepest sympathies and condolences to the family and friends of Iberia Hampton.					
Sponsors:	RICHARD R. BOYKIN, LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI					
Indexes:						
Code sections:						
Attachments:						
Date	Ver. Action B	у	Ac	ion Result		

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/26/20	16 1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass