## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 17-1613 Version: 1 Name: HONORING ROOSEVELT MIDDLE SCHOOL

STUDENTS FOR HAVING THE BEST APP IN THE

STATE OF ILLINOIS

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 2/1/2017 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 2/7/2017 Final action: 2/7/2017

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING ROOSEVELT MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENTS FOR HAVING THE BEST APP IN THE

STATE OF ILLINOIS

WHEREAS, Roosevelt Middle School, which is led by Mark Porter, is a part of Bellwood School

District 88, which is led by Rosemary Hendricks; and

WHEREAS, Six Roosevelt Middle School students participated in Verizon's fifth annual Innovative

Learning App Challenge for Illinois in January 2017; and

WHEREAS, the students' innovative idea is called Incenti-Bucks, and it was named the best app

submitted by a middle school in Illinois; and

WHEREAS, more than 1,800 schools across the country entered the contest; and

WHEREAS, students Melini Chavez, Nyheim Walker, Alejandra Rios, Jacob Sanchez, Makayla Jones, and Adrian Cervantes are all 7th grade students participating in the school's advanced STEM class

taught by Mr. Bruce Williams; and

WHEREAS, the group's app rewards students via a paperless cash system for good behavior in

school: and

WHEREAS, the innovative idea reinforces positive behaviors in schools and reduces paper waste by

making incentives electronic; and

WHEREAS, this app has the potential to benefit not just Roosevelt Middle and District 88, but schools

across the country; and.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the President and the Cook County Board of

Commissioners that the students and faculty of Roosevelt Middle School's advanced STEM class be

commended for their innovative thinking and hard work in creating the Incenti-Bucks app.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the families and parents of these students be honored for their

dedication to education.

Sponsors: RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER,

JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

**TOBOLSKI** 

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

## File #: 17-1613, Version: 1

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/7/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass