



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 17-2103 Version: 1 Name: CONDEMNING HATEFUL ACTS OF VIOLENCE

AND RHETORIC DIRECTED AT JEWS AND

MUSLIMS

Type: Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 3/2/2017 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 3/8/2017 Final action: 3/8/2017

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CONDEMNING HATEFUL ACTS OF VIOLENCE AND RHETORIC DIRECTED AT JEWS AND

MUSLIMS

WHEREAS, Cook County is the second largest county in the United States and is a welcoming place

for all; and

WHEREAS, a Jewish community center in the city of Chicago was the target of a bomb threat in

February 2017; and

WHEREAS, Chicago's Loop Synagogue, which is only two blocks south of the Cook County Building,

was vandalized and defaced just recently; and

WHEREAS, several Jewish cemeteries have been desecrated and vandalized in recent weeks; and

WHEREAS, in recent months, people of the Muslim faith have been targeted with threats and hate

speech; and

WHEREAS, a number of mosques across the country have received threatening letters; and

WHEREAS, two mosques in the state of Texas were burned down in January 2017; and

WHEREAS, in the wake of these terrible actions, Jewish community centers, synagogues and mosques have been forced to increase security and train staff on how to respond to possible acts of

violence; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Sheriff has increased patrols around mosques and synagogues in Cook

County; and

WHEREAS, houses of worship and community centers should serve as a place of prayer, learning,

refuge and peace, not of fear and hate; and

WHEREAS, all residents of Cook County should unite in opposition to hate and instead spread peace

and love.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the President of the Board and the Cook County Board

of Commissioners strongly denounce the hateful acts made against those of the Jewish and Muslim

faiths and their institutions, and affirm that all people deserve the right to be secure and

respected...end

Sponsors: RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), JOHN P. DALEY, SEAN M. MORRISON,

TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, LARRY SUFFREDIN, GREGG GOSLIN, LUIS ARROYO JR, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, EDWARD M. MOODY,

STANLEY MOORE, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

File #: 17-2103, Version: 1

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/8/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass