

## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## Legislation Details

File #:	17-2453 <b>Version:</b> 1	Name:	HONORING THE CONTRIBUTIONS AND CAREER OF REPORTER CHARLES THOMAS		
Туре:	Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved		Approved		
File created:	3/23/2017	In control:	Board of Commissioners		
On agenda:	4/11/2017	Final action:	4/11/2017		
Title:	PROPOSED RESOLUTION				
	HONORING THE CONTRIBUTIONS AND CAREER OF REPORTER CHARLES THOMAS				
	WHEREAS, Charles Thomas is known locally and regionally as the chief political reporter for ABC 7 Chicago; and				
	WHEREAS, Charles Thomas has served with distinction in that role since 2009; and				
	WHEREAS, Charles Thomas joined ABC 7 as a general assignment reporter in 1991; and WHEREAS, Charles Thomas also achieved distinction in journalism as the Midwest reporter for ABC national news for three years prior to joining ABC 7; and				
	WHEREAS, Charles Thomas began his journalism career as a reporter for KCMO Radio in Kansas City, Missouri, and worked for several local news stations across the country; and				
	WHEREAS, Charles Thomas reports news for ABC 7 that informs, enhances, and enriches the lives of the citizens of Cook County; and WHEREAS, Charles Thomas has been a cornerstone of the news business in Chicago for 26 years; and				
	<ul> <li>WHEREAS, Charles Thomas is retiring from the news business, but he will continue to work toward the important goal of helping the African American community.</li> <li>NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners that best wishes are to be extended to Charles Thomas on the occasion of his retirement; and</li> <li>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, by the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners that the deepest appreciation of the President and Board of Commissioners is to be extended to Charles Thomas for his extensive civic and journalistic contributions to the County of Cook.</li> </ul>				
Sponsors:	JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FR EDWARD M. MOODY, STANL	ITCHEY, BRIDG EY MOORE, SE	President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER, ET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, AN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, ERT STEELE, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.		
Indexes:					
Code sections:					
Attachments:					

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/11/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass