

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 17-3230 Version: 1 Name: CONGRATULATING ORR ACADEMY HIGH

SCHOOL MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM ON BEING

THE 2017 CLASS 2A STATE CHAMPIONS

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 5/4/2017 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 5/9/2017 **Final action:** 5/9/2017

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING ORR ACADEMY HIGH SCHOOL MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM ON BEING THE

2017 CLASS 2A STATE CHAMPIONS

WHEREAS, Orr Academy High School is located on the West Side of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Orr Academy has 376 students enrolled; and

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2017, the Orr men's basketball team defeated Mount Carmel 59 to 39 and

became the 2017 Class 2A state champions; and

WHEREAS, this is the first championship in Orr's 99-year history; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of Coach Louis Adams, the team won 23 games in the 2017 season

before bringing the championship trophy to the West Side of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, the Orr Spartans have traveled to Peoria two other times, winning third place in 2013 and

third place in 2014; and

WHEREAS, this championship was the result of countless hours of practice and discipline on top of

classes for each member of the team: and

WHEREAS, the success of this team is particularly notable given Orr's location in the 11th Chicago

Police district, which is one of the most violent districts in the city; and

WHEREAS, the families, coaches, teachers, and friends of the players made this championship

possible with their unyielding support and commitment; and

WHEREAS, this outstanding accomplishment is just one of many for the school, which strives to

provide a nurturing environment to promote high academic achievement.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President of the Board and the Cook County Board of

Commissioners that the Orr Academy High School men's basketball team is honored for being the

2017 2A state champions.

Sponsors: RICHARD R. BOYKIN, ROBERT STEELE, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR,

JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O.

SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

File #: 17-3230, Version: 1

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/9/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass