

## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## Legislation Details

File #:	17-3275	Version: 1	Name:	CONGRATULATING WHITNEY M. YOUNG HIGH SCHOOL DOLPHINS 2016-2017 4-A BOYS STATE CHAMPIONS		
Туре:	Consent Calendar Resolution		Status:	Approved		
File created:	5/8/2017		In control:	Board of Commissioners		
On agenda:	5/9/2017		Final action:	5/9/2017		
Title:	PROPOSED RESOLUTION					
	CONGRATULATING WHITNEY M. YOUNG HIGH SCHOOL DOLPHINS 2016-2017 4-A BOYS STATE CHAMPIONS					
	WHEREAS, the Cook County Board of Commissioners recognizes the importance of team sports in developing the qualities of respect, collaboration, hard work and dedication in young adults; and					

WHEREAS, the Whitney M. Young Dolphins played 32 games in the 2016-2017 with a record of (26-6); and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Tyron Slaughter shares the victory with Assistant Coaches Justin Bowen, Brandon Bright, David Howard, Jonathan James and Julian Kenner and Managers: Isaiah Holmes, Brendan Foster, Keyshawn Aytch, and William Rosado; and

WHEREAS, The Whitney Young Dolphins were led this year by their Seniors: Craig Beaudion, Derrick Faulkner, Michael Feigen, James Frizell, Justin Stovall, and Lucas Williamson; and

WHEREAS, the Dolphins competed in the Regional Semifinals beating Riverside-Brookfield 97-64, led by Jake Kosakowski: 14 points, Regional Finals beating Lincoln Park 66-54, led by Lucas Williamson 17 points; Sectional Semifinals, vs Kenwood, 59-49 led by Javon Freeman,: 19 points, 7 rebounds, 3 assists, 4 steals, Sectional Finals: Vs Oak Park-River Forest 73-55, led by Javon Freeman 17 points, Super-Sectional Vs. Evanston 67-59 led by Javon Freeman: 23 points, 8 rebounds, State Semifinals: 53 vs Fremed 47, led by Lucas Williamson 17 points, and Whitney Young won the State championship game defeating Simon 60-50 lead by Lucas Williamson 19 points, Justin Boyd's 17 points which included (5) 3 pointers); and

WHEREAS, Whitney Young's 2016-2017 team roaster of, Emeka Anosike, Myles Baker, Tyler Beard, Craig Beaudion, Justin Boyd, Xavier Castaneda, Derrick Faulkner, Michael Feigen, Javon Freeman, Jalen Frizell, Keenan Jones, Jake Kosakowski, Justin Stovall, and Lucas Williamson are to be congratulated on leading Whitney M. Young High School Boys Varsity Basketball team to a great season and impressive 4-A Boys State Championship we are all proud of; and

WHEREAS, Jahilil Okafor who currently in his second season with the Philadelphia 76ers, Quentin Richardson who has retired from the NBA having played 13 years as a professional player and is currently serving as the Director of Player Development for the Detroit Pistons and Hon. Stanley Moore, Cook County Commissioner- 4th District are graduates of Whitney M. Young High School.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners join the Whitney M. Young School family led by Dr. Joyce Kenner Principal and Athletic Director Chris Cassidy, friends and community in congratulating the coaching staff and team members of the Whitney M. Young Boys Basketball team on their great achievement and their sense of teamwork, respect, hard work and dedication during the 2016-2017 Basketball Season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread across the official text of the proceedings

of this honorable body and that suitable copies hereof be presented to the administration, coaching staff and team members in honor of this occasion.

Approved and adopted the 9th day of May, 2017.

**Sponsors:** ROBERT STEELE, STANLEY MOORE, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

## Indexes:

Code sections:

## Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/9/201	7 1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass