



## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 17-9520 Version: 1 Name: HONORING THE ACADEMY OF NUTRITION AND

DIETETICS FOR CELEBRATING THEIR 100TH

**ANNIVERSARY** 

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 11/9/2017 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 11/14/2017 Final action: 11/14/2017

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE ACADEMY OF NUTRITION AND DIETETICS FOR CELEBRATING THEIR 100TH

**ANNIVERSARY** 

WHEREAS, The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, now headquartered in Chicago, was founded on October 20, 1917 in Cleveland, Ohio, then known as the American Dietetic Association, by a mission driven group of women who were dedicated to helping the government improve the public's health and nutrition during World War I, and;

WHEREAS, the Academy grew from its original 58 members and is now the largest organization of food and nutrition professionals in the world with over 100,000 credentialed practitioners as members, including registered dietitian nutritionists, students, educators, clinicians and scientists, and;

WHEREAS, Dietetic practitioners work in many fields including health care systems, home health care, foodservice, as well as private practice and use nutrition services to treat chronic conditions and illnesses, and;

WHEREAS, Members of the Academy, through education, advocacy and research, are experts in a variety of issues including diabetes prevention, breastfeeding, food safety, and childhood obesity, and; shaping the public's food choices, and;

WHEREAS, the Academy has committed 100 years to improving the nation's health, shaping the public's food choices and advancing the profession of dietetics, and;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners to recognize the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics for celebrating their 100th Anniversary and the sincere appreciation of the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners is extended to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics for their service to the public health of the United States.

**Sponsors:** 

RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/14/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass