



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 17-9521 Version: 1 Name: HONORING GREATER TRUE VINE MISSIONARY

BAPTIST CHURCH FOR CELEBRATING THEIR

50TH ANNIVERSARY

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 11/9/2017 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 11/14/2017 Final action: 11/14/2017

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING GREATER TRUE VINE MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH FOR CELEBRATING THEIR

50TH ANNIVERSARY

WHEREAS, With Rev. Walter Coolidge as pastor, Greater True Vine Missionary Baptist Church began

their mission on November 29, 1967 at 3226 W. Roosevelt Road in Chicago, IL, and;

WHEREAS, In January of 1982 the church relocated to their present location, 5932-38 W Division Street where the members of the church came together and worked tirelessly to remodel the building,

and;

WHEREAS, On September 1, 1996, Pastor L. C. Caver resigned as pastor after 27 years of service and October 6, 1996, Rev. John E. Collins Sr. officially became pastor of Great True Vine MBC, and;

WHEREAS, under the leadership of Pastor John E. Collins many ministries have been added, preachers have accepted their call into the ministry, the church has grown in its number of members and the church itself has expanded and been remodeled. The Church has created programs to feed the hungry, help the needy and promote Christian Education, and;

WHEREAS, Pastor John E. Collins Sr.'s focus and vision is uplifting Christian education and the church is now a part of the Sunlight District, United Baptist State Convention, and The National

Baptist Convention.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners to recognize Greater True Vine Missionary Baptist Church for celebrating their 50th Anniversary and the sincere appreciation of the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners is extended

to Greater True Vine Missionary Baptist Church for their service to the wider community.

RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER,

JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O.

SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Sponsors:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/14/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass