

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Details

File #: 18-1073 Version: 1 Name: HONORING THE CHICAGOLAND TOY DRIVE

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 12/8/2017 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 12/12/2017 Final action: 12/12/2017

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE CHICAGOLAND TOY DRIVE

WHEREAS, the Chicagoland Toy Drive begins the important task of assisting Santa by filling his bag with over 500 gifts for homeless youth, and;

WHEREAS, according to the Chicago Coalition for the Homeless there are over 82,212 homeless individuals in Cook County which includes over 18,117 homeless students, and;

WHEREAS, the Chicagoland Toy Drive was founded to fill in a gap for families who face financial hardship, which can make celebrating difficult during the holiday season, and;

WHEREAS, the toys collected by the Chicagoland Toy Drive will benefit homeless and low income families in the Chicago area and will be donated to A Safe Haven Foundation for Women & Children and to the Primo Homeless Center for Women and Children Shelter, and:

WHEREAS, the Chicagoland Toy Drive was founded by Kouri Marshall, who serves as the Chief of Staff to Cook County Commissioner Richard R. Boykin of the 1st District, and;

WHEREAS, the 2017 Chicagoland Toy Drive Host Committee is comprised of John Boddie, Sandi Robinson, Erica Watson, Kambium Buckner, Morgan Johnson, Jason Julien, Shante Roberts and Justin Morgan, and;

WHEREAS, this committee has put forth a tremendous effort in the planning of a toy drive that will be hosted at The Godfrey Hotel on Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 5:00pm, and;

WHEREAS, the 2017 Chicagoland Toy Drive is demonstrating an exemplary commitment to Cook County through their extraordinary philanthropic efforts to serve homeless children who reside at the Primo Homeless Center and at a Safe Haven Homeless Shelter by providing them with toys this holiday season.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners to recognize the Chicagoland Toy Drive for their commitment to serve and the sincere appreciation of the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners is extended to the Chicagoland Toy Drive for their service on behalf of our homeless population.

Sponsors: RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER,

JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

File #: 18-1073, Version: 1

| Date | Ver. | Action By | Action | Result |
|------------|------|------------------------|---------|--------|
| 12/12/2017 | 1 | Board of Commissioners | approve | Pass |