

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Details

File #: 18-2142 Version: 1 Name: PRESENT AND DISCUSS THE CIVIC

CONSULTING ALLIANCE STUDY ON THE COOK

COUNTY PROPERTY TAX ASSESSMENT

SYSTEM

Type: Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 2/7/2018 In control: Finance Committee

On agenda: 2/7/2018 Final action: 3/14/2018

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

REQUESTING A HEARING OF THE FINANCE COMMITTEE TO PRESENT AND DISCUSS THE CIVIC CONSULTING ALLIANCE STUDY ON THE COOK COUNTY PROPERTY TAX ASSESSMENT

SYSTEM

WHEREAS, the President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners announced in July 2017 a study to be conducted by the Civic Consulting Alliance analyzing Cook County assessment practices;

and,

WHEREAS, the Cook County Assessor is responsible for assessing 1.8 million parcels of real estate on an annual basis; and,

WHEREAS, the property valuation process of the Cook County Assessor is governed by the Illinois Constitution and Statutes; and,

WHEREAS, 35 ILCS 200/9-5 et. seq. sets the standards that the Cook County Assessor must follow when setting property values; and,

WHEREAS, state law requires the Cook County Assessor to establish rules to be followed in assessing property; and,

WHEREAS, Illinois court decisions have further governed property valuation and the admissibility of evidence in property tax litigation; and,

WHEREAS, the Cook County Assessor uses computer programs and other tools to set assessment levels; and,

WHEREAS, the Cook County Board of Commissioners provides the Cook County Assessor with a budget for staff and resources to properly assess all properties.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Assessor and the Civic Consulting Alliance appear before the Finance Committee of the Cook County Board of Commissioners on or before the scheduled Wednesday, March 14, 2018 board meeting to present and discuss the results of the Civic Consulting Alliance study analyzing Cook County's property tax assessment system.

Sponsors: BRIDGET GAINER, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, RICHARD R. BOYKIN,

JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

File #: 18-2142, Version: 1

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/14/2018	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass
3/1/2018	1	Finance Committee	recommend for approval	Pass
2/7/2018	1	Board of Commissioners	refer	Pass