

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Details

File #: 18-2656 Version: 1 Name: A RESOLUTION OF THE COOK COUNTY BOARD

OF COMMISSIONERS CELEBRATING JEFFERY

OSUJI, FEMI MASHA & LARRY RAJI FOR

FOUNDING EVENTS BY PYRAMID

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 3/12/2018 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 3/13/2018 Final action: 3/13/2018

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION OF THE COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS CELEBRATING JEFFERY OSUJI, FEMI MASHA & LARRY RAJI FOR FOUNDING EVENTS BY PYRAMID

WHEREAS, PYRAMID was found in 2005 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign by young Cook County residents, and;

WHEREAS, PYRAMID strives to provide creative and cutting edge events to enhance the overall cultural appetite of African American millennials, and;

WHEREAS, Cook County is the second-largest County in the United States and struggles with having a thriving entertainment scene for African American millennials, and;

WHEREAS, there have been wide-spread complaints amongst African American millennials regarding how they are treated at establishments in downtown Chicago, and;

WHEREAS, PYRAMID is the leading curator in Cook County for events catering specifically to African American millennials, and;

WHEREAS, PYRAMID events are attended by African American millennials who are doctors, lawyers, teachers, accountants, City and County employees, and;

WHEREAS, PYRAMID's contributions have been recognized by the Chicago Tribune, ABC Channel 7 News and on Medium.com.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners that Jeffery Osuji, Femi Masha and Larry Raji is to be honored for their commitment to being cultural innovators, and that the sincere appreciation of the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners is extended to Jeffery, Femi and Larry for their service to Cook County citizens.

Sponsors:

RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/13/2018	1	Board of Commissioners		