

## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-3332 **Version**: 1 **Name**:

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 4/18/2018 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 4/24/2018 Final action: 4/24/2018

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING TRITON COLLEGE'S NATIONAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, Triton College, located in River Grove, Illinois, won the National Junior College Athletic Association's (NJCAA) Division II National Basketball Championship on March 24, 2018, defeating Pima Community College, Tucson, Arizona 89-85, and

WHEREAS, it is the first national championship in the program's history; and

WHEREAS, Triton's basketball team, led by Coach Steve Christiansen, finished their season with an incredible 33-4 record; and

WHEREAS, Steve Christiansen has coached the team for 14 seasons, garnering an impressive record of 367-96. He was named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) 2018 Coach of the Year and the Spalding NJCAA Division II Basketball Coach of the Year. Sophomore Deonta Terrell was named to the NABC NJCAA Division II All-America Team and was also named Most Valuable Player of the tournament. Freshmen Najee Brown-Henderson and Alondes Williams were All-Tournament Team selections; and

WHEREAS, Triton College's Men's Basketball Team exhibited true talent, dedication and teamwork throughout their entire season and are most deserving of bringing home the first championship trophy to Triton College.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby sincerely congratulate Coach Steve Christiansen, his coaching staff; Plato Dimakos, Rex Parker, Tyler Jones and Brad Fitzpatrick and their outstanding athletes; Najee Brown-Henderson, Deonta Terrell, Courtese Cooper, Creig Atkins, Corey Shepherd, Meriton Bunjaku, Alondes Williams, Devin Blake, Hugo Algara, Arman Enright-Contreras, Issaiah Hayes, Jose Alvarado, Martrell Barnes, Greg Kester, and Jerel Pitts on their amazing season and their historic championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that suitable copies of this resolution be tendered for presentation to the Triton College Men's Basketball Team as evidence of our admiration of their extraordinary accomplishment.

Sponsors: PETER N. SILVESTRI, RICHARD R. BOYKIN

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/24/2018	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass

## PROPOSED RESOLUTION

## HONORING TRITON COLLEGE'S NATIONAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

File #: 18-3332, Version: 1

WHEREAS, Triton College, located in River Grove, Illinois, won the National Junior College Athletic Association's (NJCAA) Division II National Basketball Championship on March 24, 2018, defeating Pima Community College, Tucson, Arizona 89-85, and

WHEREAS, it is the first national championship in the program's history; and

WHEREAS, Triton's basketball team, led by Coach Steve Christiansen, finished their season with an incredible 33-4 record; and

WHEREAS, Steve Christiansen has coached the team for 14 seasons, garnering an impressive record of 367-96. He was named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) 2018 Coach of the Year and the Spalding NJCAA Division II Basketball Coach of the Year. Sophomore Deonta Terrell was named to the NABC NJCAA Division II All-America Team and was also named Most Valuable Player of the tournament. Freshmen Najee Brown-Henderson and Alondes Williams were All-Tournament Team selections; and

WHEREAS, Triton College's Men's Basketball Team exhibited true talent, dedication and teamwork throughout their entire season and are most deserving of bringing home the first championship trophy to Triton College.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby sincerely congratulate Coach Steve Christiansen, his coaching staff; Plato Dimakos, Rex Parker, Tyler Jones and Brad Fitzpatrick and their outstanding athletes; Najee Brown-Henderson, Deonta Terrell, Courtese Cooper, Creig Atkins, Corey Shepherd, Meriton Bunjaku, Alondes Williams, Devin Blake, Hugo Algara, Arman Enright-Contreras, Issaiah Hayes, Jose Alvarado, Martrell Barnes, Greg Kester, and Jerel Pitts on their amazing season and their historic championship.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that suitable copies of this resolution be tendered for presentation to the Triton College Men's Basketball Team as evidence of our admiration of their extraordinary accomplishment.