

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #:	18-4030 Version: 1	Name:	RECOGNIZING THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF THE ST. JOHN BERCHMANS BASKETBALL AND VOLLEYBALL TEAMS		
Туре:	Consent Calendar Resolution	Status:	Approved		
File created:	5/29/2018	In control:	Board of Commissioners		
On agenda:	6/5/2018	Final action:	6/5/2018		
Title:	PROPOSED RESOLUTION				
	RECOGNIZING THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF THE ST. JOHN BERCHMANS BASKETBALL AND VOLLEYBALL TEAMS				
	 WHEREAS, St. John Berchmans, a pre-k through 8th grade school located in the Logan Square community in Chicago, offers a robust athletics program to students as young as 4th grade; and WHERAS, this year, both the Boys and Girls Junior Varsity Basketball teams, the Boys Varsity Basketball team, the Coed Junior Varsity Volleyball team and the Coed Varsity Volleyball team, placed in second or won their local 2017-2018 leagues and/or 2017-2018 West Central Athletic Championships; and WHEREAS, this year the Boys Junior Varsity Basketball team: George Schwass, Oscar Craig, Cian Brophy, Max Rios, Samuel Montes, Diego Ballasteros, Leonardo Ballasteros, Tadhg Brophy, Esteban Franco, Christopher Cardona, Victor Soto, and their coaches Martin Montes and Marcus Montes, became the West Central Athletic Champions; and 				
	WHEREAS, also this year the Girls Junior Varsity Basketball team: Gigi Bagazinski, Alana Ciancio, Mimi Pastorelli, Ariana Rodriguez, Avery Moulton, Ellie Glunz, Mija Lisnich, Olivia Garza, and their coaches Orlando Guerra, Mark Dombrowski and Sophia Rodriguez; and the Boys Varsity Basketball team: Thomas Puralewski, Gabriel Garza, Michael Montes, Drew Sheil, Esai Sinceno, Steven Reyes, Sophia Rodriguez, Ethan Ham and Max Bagazinski, and their coaches Kyle Gordon and Matt Duhig achieved second place at the West Central Athletic Tournament; and				
	WHEREAS, the Coed Volleyball teams members: Mija Lisnich, Ellie Glunz, Avery Moulton, Olivia Garza, Rebecca Guerra, Tadhg Brophy, Diego Ballesteros, Samuel Montes, Ian Johnson, Isabella Sevilla, Elia Jones, Mimi Pastorelli, Chris Cardona, Tristan Calderon, Ariana Rodriguez, Oscar Craig, Max Rios, Gigi, Bagazinski, Cian Brophy, Anahi Rios, Parker Craig, Thomas Puralewski, Gabe Garza, Drew Sheil, Sophia Rodriguez, Cristian Cardona, and their coaches Michael Bagazinski, Phil Lisnich, Amy D'Arco, Emily LeVin and Isabella Ibarra; placed first or second during the 2017-2018 SBJ League finals.				
	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the residents of Cook County, do hereby recognize all of the St. John				

championship level; and BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this text be spread upon the official proceeding of this Honorable Body, and a suitable copy of the same be tendered to the St. John Berchman's athletic department to celebrate the Basketball and Volleyball teams' inspiring accomplishments.

Berchmans' athletic teams on their impressive efforts and wishes to congratulate those who achieved

Sponsors: LUIS ARROYO JR, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

File #: 18-4030, Version: 1						
	TOE	BOLSKI				
Indexes:						
Code sections	:					
Attachments:						
Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result		
6/5/2018	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass		