



## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## **Legislation Details**

Version: 1 File #: 18-4097 Name: A RESOLUTION OF THE COOK COUNTY BOARD

> OF COMMISSIONERS TO CONGRATULATE ORR ACADEMY HIGH SCHOOL MEN'S BASKETBALL

**TEAM** 

Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved Type:

File created: 6/1/2018 In control: **Board of Commissioners** 

On agenda: 6/5/2018 Final action: 6/5/2018

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION OF THE COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS TO CONGRATULATE

ORR ACADEMY HIGH SCHOOL MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM

WHEREAS, Orr Academy High School men's basketball team are the 2018 Class 2A 1st Place State Champions. This is the second state championship win for the school, in its 99-year history, and;

WHEREAS, Orr had been an excellent three-point shooting team throughout the season. They won the title game without relying on that, shooting just 2-for-8 from three-point range, and;

WHEREAS, This is Orr's second state title in any sport, and;

WHEREAS, The mission of this institution is in partnership with parents and community, is to provide a safe and nurturing environment where we promote high academic achievement and effective communication to ensure students compete for college and career opportunities in a global society, and;

WHEREAS, It is the vision of Orr Academy High School to be Chicago's Westside School of choice where all stakeholders serve as the motivating force to guide students toward identifying their personal talents and developing life skills to become continuous learners and responsible citizens, and;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners to congratulate Orr Academy High School Men's Basketball Team and the sincere appreciation of the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners is extended to Orr Academy High School for their achievement of a lifetime.

Sponsors:

RICHARD R. BOYKIN, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. **TOBOLSKI** 

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/5/2018	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass