



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 18-7032 Version: 1 Name: THANKING PEPSICO AND THE CITY COLLEGES

OF CHICAGO

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 11/13/2018 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: Final action: 11/13/2018

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

THANKING PEPSICO AND THE CITY COLLEGES OF CHICAGO

WHEREAS, PepsiCo has been a fixture across the Country and Cook County for decades, and

WHEREAS, PepsiCo employs many Cook County residents, and

WHEREAS, PepsiCo has in many ways exhibited its dedication to the Community, but perhaps in no way more important than its cooperation with the City Colleges of Chicago, and

WHEREAS, the City Colleges of Chicago worked hand in hand with PepsiCo to create a new scholarship program, and

WHEREAS, the City Colleges of Chicago is one of the largest community college systems in the country, and

WHEREAS, the City Colleges of Chicago includes seven campuses and has several award-winning culinary schools, and

WHEREAS, the City Colleges of Chicago and PepsiCo joined forces to establish a scholarship program, and

WHEREAS, that program will enable individuals from the South and West Sides of Chicago to attend Olive-Harvey College and Richard J. Daley College who then can join an apprenticeship with PepsiCo, and

WHEREAS, nearly half of African American men, mostly located on the South and West Sides, are unemployed or not attending school, and

WHEREAS, the scholarship will cover full tuition for participants, making the American Dream available to a number of individuals who did not have access to it before, and

WHEREAS, this type of private-public partnership is exactly what is needed to make the world a better place.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners that PepsiCo and the City Colleges of Chicago are thanked and honored for their collaboration and dedication to the communities they serve.

Sponsors: RICHARD R. BOYKIN, DENNIS DEER, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR,

JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

File #: 18-7032, Version: 1

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/13/2018	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass