

## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 19-1033 Version: 1 Name: RESOLUTION HONORING LIFESAVING HEROES

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 1/2/2019 In control: **Board of Commissioners** 

On agenda: 1/23/2019 Final action: 1/23/2019

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING LIFESAVING HEROES

WHEREAS, a major and potentially life-threatening fire broke out at a resident's house in the 500 block of Crest Avenue in Elk Grove Township; and

WHEREAS, Shanika Franklin, a caregiver for a resident in the house, smelled smoke and began informing other family members in the house; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Franklin observed smoke coming through ceiling vents and rushed to help her client from their bed into a wheelchair to get them to safety; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Franklin had to find a safe exit with the wheelchair after running into smoke in several locations and successfully found a safe exit through the front door; and

WHEREAS, three neighbors of the house, Brett Tanner, Jim McEnroe, and Aaron Pullen, observed the fire in the garage of their neighbors' home and rushed into the house to help the family evacuate;

WHEREAS, these four heroes helped get the family out of the house safely; and

WHEREAS, they helped move nearby cars safely away from the fire to help firefighters combat the fire: and

WHEREAS, first responders including nearly 50 firefighters from 11 departments responded to the fire; and

WHEREAS, Firefighters battled the fire for over four hours in order to put it out; and

WHEREAS, several lives were saved because of the quick action of these individuals; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Cook County Board President and Cook County Board of Commissioners do hereby honor these four brave heroes for their lifesaving efforts; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution to Shanika Franklin, Brett Tanner, Jim McEnroe, and Aaron Pullen.

KEVIN B. MORRISON, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, Sponsors:

SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON,

PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

## File #: 19-1033, Version: 1

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/23/2019	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass